1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

PFL to FL Dynamic Taillights conversion guide

larbel Jun 27, 2017

  1. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    32
    2
    8
    Take some pictures it will help to figure it out
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. Grattamone

    Grattamone Registered User

    5
    2
    3
    @larbel, you were right.
    I've figured out that NAR codes were
    8V4 954 091A
    8V4 954 093E
    8V4 954 094E
    8V4 954 092A

    European's are
    8V4 954 091
    8V4 954 093C
    8V4 954 094C
    8V4 954 092

    I've made some testing with a 9V battery and the turning signal came together with the brake signal.
    I'm dying :sob::sob::sob:

    I'm now good for a refund.
     
  4. larbel

    larbel Registered User

    975
    720
    93
    How much you paid for them? PM me if you need help finding the SB lights...
     
  5. Grattamone

    Grattamone Registered User

    5
    2
    3
    190€ each, but still ok for a refund.
    Bought the new ones on ebay this morning. Thank you larbel.
     
  6. Wooyong Lee

    Wooyong Lee Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    Hello All
    I have a3 8V North-America ver.
    I did this instruction PFL -> PL, but the dynamic turning signals work with brake light
    Anyone can solve this problem?
    Thanks in advance

    ezgif-1-d79f43c2d42f.gif
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2018
  7. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    I think the only way to change it is purchasing the Europe model lights not us. Lots of tails in the states use red as indicators where as Europe it’s just yellow.
     
  8. Wooyong Lee

    Wooyong Lee Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    I have EU ver :)
    upper dynamic light is yellow and brake light is red but work together now
     
  9. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    Have you had a look at the coding to see if you can deactivate the brake indicator?
     
  10. larbel

    larbel Registered User

    975
    720
    93
    You followed the Audizine guide on wiring right? As far as I know, there's two things that need to be happened.. The NAR outer tail has one wire for both turn signal and brakes, you'll need to run a turn signal wire from the inner light to the outer for turn signal. And then with VCDS/OBD11, you'll need to disable the NAR function from presumably Adaptations... Pretty sure I asked on Audizine if anyone can provide the NAR version of J519's number to verify if it's the same as EU or can check on ETKA the functions, but don't think anyone ever came forwarded...
     
  11. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    32
    2
    8
    Woo-
    If you do a scan of your 09 module I can help you with the coding to see if that is correct.
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Wooyong Lee

    Wooyong Lee Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    thank you all !
    i have obd cable, but i never use that
    how can i scan 09 module ?
    everything working good without that (turn light working with brake light)
     
  14. Wooyong Lee

    Wooyong Lee Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    I got some information from google about 09 module, i understood central elec., but I can't find about brake light and turn light
    Anyone have coding infor. ?
    Thanks in advance
     
  15. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    I’ve had a look and I can’t find it either. @DJAlix would be the best person to ask as I think he has done it before.
     
  16. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,621
    5,066
    113
    The function you are trying to separate via coding is actually “hardwired”.
     
  17. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    Its my turn for tail lights conversion
    I have collected all connectors nedded and waiting the dynamic lights from DPD....:yahoo:
     

    Attached Files:

    dannyboy1985 and Kondax like this.
  18. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    Happy Days!
     
    gsrsilver likes this.
  19. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    32
    2
    8
    Can you send me your 09 adaptation map? You will need to retrieve it once it is saved.
     
  20. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    32
    2
    8
    If anyone needs help for a US facelift retrofit let me know, I have completed this mod.
     
    gsrsilver likes this.
  21. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    I have one question:
    Old tail lights have bulbs for fog & reverse lights. New tailtlightshave leds. After light installation is there any fault bulb warning message at instrument cluster?
     
  22. Damien 336

    Damien 336 Registered User

    27
    0
    1
    Sorry for bringing up a old thread do you have the vcds code to map out the bulb out errors
     
  23. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    I have pfl led tail lights and i want to install fl led tail lights.
    Vcds needs for normal tail lights with bulbs?
     
  24. Damien 336

    Damien 336 Registered User

    27
    0
    1
    I have upgraded mine but getting bulb out errors so need the vcds coding to map them out, i see alot of people asking but get no reply
     
  25. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    You only need to code if going halogen to led.
     
  26. Damien 336

    Damien 336 Registered User

    27
    0
    1
    I have.... Got bulb out errors I need to code out
     
  27. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    Thanks mate :superman:
     
    dannyboy1985 likes this.
  28. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    I just made a quick test and remove reverse kight bulb and warning message came into cluster for burn bulb. I guess the FL full led lights have resistors for fog and reverse leds...:thumbs up:
     
  29. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    Yes, even on a halogen car with no coding the led lights don’t show warnings on the dash.
     
  30. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    This sound good.
    I have PFL leds now and i am happy because dont need codding to seperate the tail light from stop signal , after FL installation
     
    dannyboy1985 likes this.
  31. ksbezz

    ksbezz Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    So i got the PFL LED and want the FL LED. Is it just plug and play?
    '' dont care about dynamic indicator''
     
  32. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    Hello my friend
    I have done the tail light swap acording your diagram. I have one problem:
    When ignition is OFF dynamic turn signals work fine
    When engine is running the dynamic turn signals dont work well.
    Start with dynamic, after 3 flashes work like semi dymanic and after 3 flashes work normal . Dont know what to think.
    There is not any fault code with vcds.
    Any idea?
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    Hello my friend
    I have done the tail light swap acording your diagram. I have one problem:
    When ignition is OFF dynamic turn signals work fine
    When engine is running the dynamic turn signals dont work well.
    Start with dynamic, after 3 flashes work like semi dymanic and after 3 flashes work normal . Dont know what to think.
    There is not any fault code with vcds.
    Any idea?
     
  35. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18

    Anyone can help;
    After tail light swap with engine running the dymanic is confused!!!!!
    Without engine running everything work fine.
    :scared2:
     
  36. Clod

    Clod 2017 Audi NA A3 S-line

    32
    2
    8
    Do you have constant power to the dynamic module? Are you using an adapter to convert power? What happens when the engine is running is the voltage in the system goes higher than 12v. If you have to run the blinker to the outer tail you may also need some energy storage to that the signal can drive the LEDs
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019
  37. DJAlix

    DJAlix VAG Car Coding™ Limited Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User VAG Can Professional ODIS (Offboard Diagnostic System)

    6,621
    5,066
    113
    If you can get to me in north London I can resolve this issue.
     
  38. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    Mine seems to work fine but I would guess as already stated it’s to do with the voltage going to the dynamic modules. Could need a voltage adjuster to keep it down to just 12v. Where have you got the power from?
     
  39. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    Maybe you have right my friend
    I got power from battery and i try also from fuse box with same results.
    When engine is not running dynamic is perfect because voltage is 12,6 volt.
    When engine running voltage is 14 volt amd this is the reason i guess.
    From which place i have to take 12v?
     
  40. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    I took mine from the 12v supply in the boot. I’m guessing this may be more regulated than off the battery. That’s why mine works better.. I have just let it run for awhile and it does eventually get out of sync. I have ordered a DC-DC buck converter so will report back once I’ve tried it but I’m sure that’s the issue. Just check the popular auction site they are about £2
     
  41. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    I just try with multimeter
    When engine off ---> 12,4 volt
    When engine runnimg --->14,6 volt
    This cause the problem?
     
  42. gsrsilver

    gsrsilver Registered User

    73
    50
    18
    After 3 days into my garage, working with tail lights swap, many tests i found the solution to my problem.
    Acording to FL dynamic diagram the outer connector PIN 6 must be connected with inner connector PIN 3 ( this connection cynchonise the dynamic to tail lights). The factory pin 6 from outer black connector soldered with tail light pin 2 like Dannyboy1985
    Happy and proud :footy:
     

    Attached Files:

    dannyboy1985 likes this.
  43. dannyboy1985

    dannyboy1985 Registered User

    191
    70
    28
    Brilliant work I don’t think anyone has solved this and posted it... I can’t believe I missed that looking at the diagram. Will test this weekend and add it to the guide!
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information