1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

MMI Basic Plus Navigation Disc Drive Unlock

Tay Jun 7, 2014

  1. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Hi,

    I've been trying to help a friend with an A6, fitted with the MMI Basic Plus unit with Navigation (I believe). He's asked to unlock the Navigation disc drive to swap to a European Map disc while on holiday.

    After trawling through the control modules with VCDS, all I've been able to find is in Navigation 37 - Adaptation Channel 64 will eject the disc once, but I'm trying to enable the disc drive to eject using the button.

    I know this can be carried out using Adaptation channel 68 on a 2G MMI high unit, but does anyone know what needs to be coded for this unit?

    Pictures of the set up in question.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1402171055.328376.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1402171111.640871.jpg

    Any ideas anyone?!
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. c4a5er

    c4a5er Registered User

    94
    13
    18
    have you tried three zeros in channel 64?
     
  4. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Nope not tried that, it was already set to 0, and I tried changing to 1, and then back to 0 but no luck.

    Why three zeros?
     
  5. c4a5er

    c4a5er Registered User

    94
    13
    18
    i only say cos RNS E uses three zeros
     
  6. c4a5er

    c4a5er Registered User

    94
    13
    18
    RNS E actually uses channel 67 for the drive....do you have anything similar
     
  7. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Nope 67/68 were both unavailable, 64 ejected the disc once when changes from 0 to 1, 65 didn't activate the eject button when changed from 0 to 1.
     
  8. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
  9. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    That's for the MMI High as that's what I first thought. This MMI Basic Plus or whatever it's called seems to be a pain!
     
  10. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    With VCDS what channel are you accessing the device on 07, 37 or something different?
     
  11. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    I had looked into 37-Navigation, 07-Control Head, and even tried the Media Players, and Central Electrics modules in the hope there may be a setting hidden somewhere in there.
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    So it response to both 07 and 37? I always hated MMI basic and thankfully only had to work on it a couple of times.
     
  14. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    Think I have found it select Media Player 0E, select channel 64 and set the value to 0.
     
  15. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Will that not be for the CD changer? I shall have a go and report back, in 37-Nav channel 64 did an once only disk eject.
     
  16. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    CD-Changer will be Media Player 1E
     
  17. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Okay thanks! Will the channel not need to be set to 1 as this is the case with Channel 68 of 37-Nav for a car with MMI High?
     
  18. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    you should set it to 0

    0 = Eject Button active
    1 = Eject Button inactive (Anti-Theft)
     
  19. johnny_m

    johnny_m Registered User

    54
    0
    6
    Hi Tay, Did you manage to get this to work ? I looked at this a couple of years ago as mine is locked too and didn't get very far !

    Cheers
     
  20. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Nope got nowhere so far, I'm awaiting a response from Ross-Tech to see if they can shed any light onto the problem.
     
  21. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    1,813
    199
    63
    Did you do a reset of the mmi unit ? this definitely works.
     
  22. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    Yep I did this multiple times after attempting some of the coding changes
     
  23. johnny_m

    johnny_m Registered User

    54
    0
    6
    Yep Definitely works for MMI High...but not for basic plus. I have also tried it many times then gave up !
     
  24. PawelM

    PawelM Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    Hey Tay, did you hear anything from Ross-Tech? I am new here and also have the same problem with Sat-Nav eject button. Audi in Glasgow quoted £45 to do it but I am condidering a VCDS which will be really pointless if it can't be done.
     
  25. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    3,270
    180
    63
    Just thinking laterally... Long coding rather than adaptation?

    R
     
  26. PawelM

    PawelM Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    Hi Tay,

    Refreshing - did you hear anything from Ross-Tech regarding the issue with locked eject button?

    I have the same problem and need to know whether I just gave up or try to find somebody with VCDS who could do it for me?

    Cheers
     
  27. Tay

    Tay Active Member VCDS Map User

    449
    55
    28
    No positive answers from Ross tech, they only told me I was trying MMI high coding which I was well aware of.
     
  28. PawelM

    PawelM Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    Hello again Tay. If your friend is still after unlocking the sat nav here is how i did it.

    Last couple of weeks I have been on holidays in Poland where among other things I have managed to unlock my MMI Basic Plus eject button. I was adding rear parking sensors there and asked whether the guy who did it knew by any chance how to unlock sat nav. He did not know but could not sleep over night and called back next morning asking if it is ok for me to come back because he really need to try it. After 10 minuts a result and £50 asked by Audi Glasgow saved.

    To do it you need to go to Media Player 1 (or Media Player 0E - as this was Polish version of VCDS I have no idea if the translations are accurate). Next - channel 65 to be changed from 1 to 0 and done. Only thing you need to rememebr is that the eject button only works with key in the ignition (red lights on the player are on) and you need to press and hold eject for couple of seconds.

    I am now using 2012 maps instead of 2008 which in Glasgow makes a difference and I am happy.

    Hope this will help somebody.
     
  29. johnny_m

    johnny_m Registered User

    54
    0
    6
    You star thanks for posting !!!!
     
  30. Trevski

    Trevski Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    I know it's a long shot but does anyone know how I can have the sat nav unlocked so I can change the country, I brought my s3 from Australia to uk but Audi can't unlock it to put uk maps on it
    My car has the HD mmi system
    Thxs
     
  31. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    What year is your S3?
     
  32. Trevski

    Trevski Registered User

    5
    0
    1
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. Trevski

    Trevski Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    2014
     
  35. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    It's not just the case of unlocking the maps, you need to be running the EU version of the MIB software for the maps to run. Unfortunately I not sure if anyone has converted MIB modules as yet. Your quickest option would be to purchase an European 5F module for ebay and get component protection removed & maps enabled by an Audi dealer.
     
  36. Trevski

    Trevski Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    is their a part number for a 5F so i can look on ebay.have you heard of this working as i have been tiold that once i buy a unit from ebay and have it unlocked as soon as i try to load maps from audi it works out that my mmi should be australian and then wont work
    any help will be great
     
  37. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    The online side of things won't work anymore, don't think you will ever get that working again. You will have to perform manual map updates. Don't have any part numbers, put a post in the A3 section someone can get a number off their unit via a VCDS scan. I would just look for a 2014/2015 unit on ebay, just make sure it has the same options as yours (dual SD slot's, SIM card slot etc).
     
  38. Trevski

    Trevski Registered User

    5
    0
    1
    hiya
    will google work on maps, would some one with a vag cable and software be able to unlock companent protection,how does audi enable maps
    sorry to ask but you sound as you know electronics
    thxs
     
  39. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    5,213
    1,303
    113
    You will get google maps on retrofit components, but the myaudi side of thing and download the free map updates won't work. CP & map activation on MIB components is dealer only. VCDS has never been able to remove CP or activate maps.
     
  40. JNight

    JNight Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Know this is an old post, but didn't look like it ever got a clear fix, so....
    This is for MMI Basic, which for this car was the red and black display.

    I'll take it you all know to plug the VCDS gear in and make sure ignition is to red lights on>

    First page gives "select control module"
    Click
    Next page gives tabs. First one says installed. I ran an autoscan first, but don't think it needs that.
    So, Click installed and you should see the list of what your car has as installed modules.
    This car had 20 installed entries, though yours may have more if you've got ectra factory options.
    Most of the forums keep pointing us to 0E-Media Player, which I spent ****** ages trying to find the fix in there.
    Wrong place!
    Look for 5F - Information Electr.
    Click
    Now it should open that module and give you the Basic Functions and Advance Functions at the bottom of the sceen.
    Look for Adaption - 10
    Click
    Drop Down bar in middle of screen - Documented adaption channels can be selected here -> click
    Nice list of all channels.
    Look for Ejection Lock
    Click (double click)
    Comes up with channel 18
    Below this stored value
    Below this new value
    Change from 0 to 1
    Test > Save
    Done.
    Hold down eject button on DVD unit.
    If you're as lucky as me..... Out pops your DVD.

    Result :)

    Good luck.
     

    Attached Files:

  41. JNight

    JNight Registered User

    2
    0
    1
    Further images
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information