Audi Sport Suspension too harsh?

nujjy

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a newbie to the forum and on the verge of buying a new Audi A4.

Do people have an opinion on the Sports suspension (i.e. the one that comes standard on Sport and S-Line models)? I test-drove a 2.0TDI S-Line A4 last weekend and found that you could really feel the bumps. I have an A4 B8 SE and can drive over certain bumps on roads at 25mph without too much bother. When I drove on the same roads in the B9, I felt I had to really slow down to 10-15mph to make it bearable.

Not sure if that was just the car I drove, but I'm 100% sure it didn't have S-Line suspension.

I'm most likely buying an S-Line demonstrator so don't really have much of a choice in the way of suspension. All the cars I've seen come with sports suspension and no adaptive suspension.

I'd be grateful for any opinions people have.

S-Line is the harsh one and Sport more comfortable ??

I think there are three types - Comfort (standard on SE) and Sport (standard on Sport and S-Line). You can then opt to get an even harsher S-Line suspension on the S-Line models.

You CAN request Comfort on a Sport and S-Line car but don't think I can afford to spend the extra to get a factory built car.

I think Sport is the decent compromise , after all the forum isn't called audi-s-line.net

I think there are three types - Comfort (standard on SE) and Sport (standard on Sport and S-Line). You can then opt to get an even harsher S-Line suspension on the S-Line models.

Not quite. There are 4 types:
  • Comfort Dynamic suspension ("Newly developed suspension system with increased comfort and agility whilst retaining sport driving characteristics")
  • Sports suspension ("Lowered by 20mm compared to Comfort Dynamic suspension, with stiffer suspension and damping for more direct contact with the road and sportier handling")