1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

My s3 v6 build

Tj 0785 Oct 5, 2018

  1. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    See if you can get an end on pic

    <tuffty/>
     
    IPG likes this.
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. IPG

    IPG Registered User

    1,847
    785
    113
    Difficult to tell what it is at all from this angle! You need to see it on the side to see if it's go the black cap or not.
    I can tell, however, that it is a vr6 quattro box. lol
     
  4. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Anyone know off the top of their head what size the gearbox bolts are used for fixing to an engine stand ?
     
  5. ADs3

    ADs3 Active Member Silver Supporter

    403
    129
    43
    I just got some threaded m10 bar, nuts & washers from screwfix & cut it to the length I needed if that helps........thinking about it may of been m12......I was out last night so brains a bit foggy!
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
    Tj 0785 likes this.
  6. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Never thought of that, That is a big help i was on phone to audi for the bolts but would be next week now, I have a van full of that stuff, finally picked the engine up from the garage where is been sat in a corner for over a year, engine stand and hoist are at the unit waiting just need to get it unloaded and get stuck in over xmas
     
    ADs3 likes this.
  7. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,368
    411
    83
    Good to see progress on this build. Will be interesting to see your build thread finally get there.
     
  8. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    B2FE5E72-E3FF-4E89-A881-74333215A9BB.jpeg
    Well it’s finally happened! After moving to a slightly bigger unit and assembling the hoist and the stand I got the engine on the stand and started to strip it down, hit a slight snag with the stand being that I cannot remove the chain covers with it on the stand so will attach the hoist remove the stand and the covers on that side and re attach the stand, that’s all I managed to get done today as I’m off on a call out now so more fun tomorrow
    46F3ED0E-082F-4C01-A8BA-E5C544FFD9C4.jpeg
     
    hydro s3, S3AMJ and <tuffty/> like this.
  9. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Yay!!.... yeah I did my covers with the engine hung off a hoist... the 'official' way is to use a side mount bracket of some description

    <tuffty/>
     
    Tj 0785 likes this.
  10. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    I did think it was going to be tight when I got it on the stand, can you remember what size bit the head bolts are?
     
  11. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    M10 star/spline I think...

    <tuffty/>
     
    Tj 0785 likes this.
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Bluepower

    Bluepower Registered User

    269
    79
    28
    M10 polydrive, not the common 6-star
     
  14. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    You are thinking of 20v ribe head bolts... 3.2 vr6 are these..

    Screenshot 2019-12-27 at 19.08.38.png

    <tuffty/>
     
  15. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
  16. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Not entirely convinced the head needs porting... and when I sent mine to Bill's head guy neither the seats or the guides needed doing... so just had a resurface...

    Just remeber that the valves are of no use to you as you will need at the very least inconel exhausts (supertech or ferrera)... personally unless you are chasing numbers from a very large turbo or building the ultimate atmo engine I would say save your money....

    <tuffty/>
     
    Tj 0785 likes this.
  17. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Cheers tuffty ,May 3 favourite words “save your money” ha, so I need new inlet valves aswell I take it,
     
  18. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    tbh I don't know... turbo valve gear info for the 3.2 seems (fairly typically) vague... I am using the std inlets as they are stainless but supertech inconel exhausts for obvious reasons...

    The supertech inlets have a black nitride coating but are essentially stainless steel like the OE inlets...

    I honestly couldn't say if they are worth the investment or not tbh... exhausts definately, inlets maybe not... bear in mind that most VR'ts don't rev particularly high and generally don't need to to make power...

    For much the same reason I stuck with std rods I chose to stick with std inlets... your use case may be a little different but I haven't found any info to suggest that they are required although logic suggests that they should be more tolerant to higher temps... but thast a little subjective..

    If I was choosing where to spend the money you had potentially earmarked for the ported head I would say use that for valves instead... you would get more value from that...

    <tuffty/>
     
    Tj 0785 likes this.
  19. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Yeah I’m reading you don’t need to change anything unless 500 bhp+ but just being cautious so have new rods, cheapest I’ve found both sets of valves is bar trek at £600 delivered so will have a bit of a shop around turbozentrum which have a Manchester shop now are a few hundred more expensive
     
  20. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    They are pricey because there are more of the b*ggers!...

    Inlets are around £25 each, exhausts are about £35 each... and then you need single groove collets which are a couple of quid each... you will need 48 if doing a full valve replacement...

    Enjoy the 20 head bolts you need to buy lol... 13 short, 7 long... they came to around 100 quid with decent discount from TPS :)

    <tuffty/>
     
  21. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    ...or you could try these bad boys....
    https://www.uspmotorsports.com/ARP-Head-Studs-3.2L-VR6.html

    Probably overkill unless you go mental on boost...

    <tuffty/>
     
  22. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    I think it said the collets were included( it says cotters included), Already have the head bolts from the part request £150. (☹️ No trade discount) I was put off by the stud kits as I read they needed modifying,
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2019
  23. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Managed to get a bit more done today, as you can see this engine had some pretty bad wear to the guides 15F14322-E1C3-4010-B72D-F67D2053CBE4.jpeg 37392100-667B-405C-8917-AA8B411632B8.jpeg C43ABA21-A42E-4EFB-AECF-401D7423A405.jpeg
    989CCDC9-9E00-4A7B-8C37-C1BABD8909C7.jpeg 4EAB9C56-D822-45D2-A0B9-4B379EEE84BC.jpeg 02C17149-F52E-47F3-9EB5-5A3C79D9EB50.jpeg D07131F8-0275-49AB-9C19-F091C2E0635A.jpeg

    Few things how’s best way to clean up the bored before attempting the new piston rings and rods and bearings? The bolts for the caps are they re useable or a new ones needed? And I’ve noticed the new oil pump hasn’t come with the drive rod should this be changed or is the old one re useable ?
     
    hydro s3 and <tuffty/> like this.
  24. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Had to call it a day now as since I hardly get to drive the r32 and I’m always in the van I came in that today thinking had all the tools I need but as always I forgot something, I left the rods long just to get in on but forgot to cut them down( rookie mistake, plenty more to come) and I’m not going home to get the hacksaw and come back,
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    @<tuffty/>, I’ve just seen a video saying I need to gap the rings bigger because going from NA to turbo, do you know anything about that ? Is that right?
     
  26. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    10,040
    2,677
    113
    Makes sense, higher cycl temp+pressure so likely more room required for thermal expansion.

    Just use paper towel and gallons of brake cleaner to clean the engine. Honing tool for the bores


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  27. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Now just need to Find out what gap to go to looks like my homework for tonight. Do I need to be careful about getting the brake cleaner in the waterways? (Potentially a stupid question)
     
  28. S3AMJ

    S3AMJ OEM+

    2,200
    787
    113
    Brake cleaner should evaporate way before you put the engine back together TJ. Just wipe off any excess residue. Been a long time waiting for this build, looking forward to seeing your progress


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  29. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Ok cheers didn’t know if the residue would break down any rubber on the coolant side down the line,
    I know this has been a slow build probably slowest ever I was just glad that it turned over easily today


    Brake cleaner, honing tool and feeler gauge have been ordered ready to collect just looking at piston ring compressor, I think plan for tomorrow will be remove the crank and clean everything up and hopefully get new rods on the pistons ready for the rings if I can find what to gap them to
     
  30. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Technically yes... Couldn't tell you to what exactly though... I never touched mine as I don't plan to run high boost and was following the general HPA approach of the bolt on turbo to a certain power level... Have not seen anything specific as to when they deem it necessary but in general turbo cars with high ish boost should be gapped differently to na cars..

    <tuffty/>
     
  31. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    I’ve seen one video suggest it should be 20 thousandth Instead of 16 when going turbo but I’d like to find more info on this before I open up the gap, Is it worth getting a lightweight or damper crankshaft pully if increasing the power,
    At the moment I’ve got so many questions rattling around in my head
     
  32. hydro s3

    hydro s3 S3 amk

    1,368
    411
    83
    It's good seeing some.good progress on this build. Cant help with your ring gaps but if you where to phone and speak to Bill he might have answers to a lot of your questions.
    I know he has a business to run and maybe cant talk to long but he was extremely helpful when I needed information for my hybrid turbo getting fitted. Or a email him.
    Just a thought mate. Would save you getting all sorts of answers of the interweb that might not even be accurate.
    I look forward to see how this progresses,keep up the hood work and plenty of pictures.
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Stick to the OE damper pulley or if you have cash burning a hole in your pocket then I think fluidampr makes one...

    Do not! stick one of those daft billet trinkets on... If you do I will have to pop round, remove it, cover it in C4, blow it up then make you watch me give you a life time ban on ASN ;)

    <tuffty/>
     
    Tj 0785 likes this.
  35. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Haha was just a thought as I see fluidampr Mentioned a lot, I take it the oem one should be changed for a new one at least ? No money burning a hole in my pocket, in fact I think there must be a hole in my pocket already because there’s no money it ha, I’m just reading through manuals now and noticed before I removed the head I didn’t check it was a tdc, is that going to cause me issues down the line
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2019
  36. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    I see what your saying but I’d feel bad bothering him when he is so busy looking for free advice, if he pops in here and helps out brilliant and it would be much appreciated but , I wouldn’t phone him to pick his brains,you at least bought your turbo set up from him and a customer, I’ve not as his shop was mainly 1.8t but when time comes for ecu and fuel pump things like that then I will be ordering from bill
     
    hydro s3 likes this.
  37. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Its a 370 bucks part and only really any good if you are planning to run a fully balanced crank and revving high (not typical on a VR)... I never ran a fluidampr on my 20v... read into that what you may...

    Makes not odds as you can easily set TDC on both the top and bottom end with it apart

    <tuffty/>
     
  38. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Can you remove the crank pully without the special tool? I take it the crank won’t come out with the pully still attached
     
  39. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Just need to be able to hold the crank to undo the cranck bolt then obvs replace with a new one to torque angle once replaced...

    Unless balancing the crank I am not sure there is any benefit at all from the fluidampr over the OE one... I'd rather spend the money on getting the crank balanced with the OE damper than put a fluidampr on an unbalanced crank tbh...

    <tuffty/>
     
  40. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    Didn’t even think off crank balancing, I was only going to remove it whilst honing the bores, is the crank balancing expensive, il order a new oem pully and bolt on Monday, the workshop manual I have there’s no filies in the crank section (or wiring) so I’ve just emailed them as I need to know what torque it all tightens back up to
     
  41. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    Ok then that changes things... For the cost of a new OE pulley I would buy a fluidampr... I suspect there won't be much difference in price tbh... 50/100 quid maybe..

    Unless the one you have is borked there is no advantage to buying a new one but... if you are going to spank out on a new one (ecs list them at around 300 bucks, 70 less than a fluidampr) then tbh a fluidampr pulley is justifiable especially if to price difference between it and new OE is negligible

    As for balancing... I don't recall how much it was when I got mine done... 150 ish springs to mind but it could be a little more than that now... I don't think it should cost more than a couple of hundred though

    <tuffty/>
     
  42. Tj 0785

    Tj 0785 Registered User Bronze Supporter Silver Supporter VCDS Map User

    3,877
    1,185
    113
    The pully at the minute look like it’s got a slight crack in it from getting left in the work van for 2 weeks and probably took a beating
     
  43. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    24,366
    5,601
    113
    ahhh ok then I'd just get a fluidampr then mate LOL... next time, start with that ;) lol

    <tuffty/>
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information