Radio signal amplifier (how to fit?)

audi lover

Reaction score
Does anyone know how/if it's possible to fit one of these to a standard factory stereo - 'audi chorus'?
I posted a link a couple of weeks back saying about my terrible radio reception in my A3 52 plate
I've had a look and can't see any loose wires that might have been the cause...
Although this ad says 'needed when fitting an aftermarket stereo', I want to try fitting it to the standard factory stereo and seeing if the signal is, indeed, amplified
I'm a novice so step by step instructions would be grately appreciated!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/PC5-52-Audi-A...emQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_3?hash=item3ca61f0cb5

cheers

Hi, When you say terrible radio reception and you have checked the antenna wiring it would suggest to me that the preamp in the Chorus is shot and fitting an aftermarket pre-amp will not improve the situation. You could try pulling the stereo out and just putting a piece of wire in the antenna socket, best length would be around 75cm which is a 1/4wave at 100mhz. This should provide good enough reception so long as you dont live in the sticks. This will atleast proove that your antenna is not open/short circuit. I'm not sure if you are aware but the Chorus stereos are prone to the volume problem (going to max vol every time you adjust it) This is due to an EEprom programming fault, this will eventually happen to yours so i would recommend buying a new unit on ebay that has had the program mod made.