VagCom Cable

aristides

Reaction score
Hello!

I am about to buy a Vag-Com cable and i was looking for some cheap options, since Ross-Tech genuine is a bit expensive for me.

I came across this : http://cgi.ebay.es/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=230297721198&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:ES:1123
which has the 704.1 version.

Does anyone know if this would work on a 2008 A3 Sportback 8PA?
Will i have all the options activated?
I also heard that some cables stop working after an update?!

I really need some advice, since im a Vag-Com newbie!!!

It will probably work but I tried these & after 2-3 just going wrong I coughed up for a genuine one, waste of time & so inconvenient aswell.

Yes if you update the cable will be truly fecked, its just not worth it trust me & also any new modules past 704 wont be acessible as 805.1 will have them, just cough up the money, if you can afford a new 08 car you can afford the £230-260 for the lead, trust me you wont regret it for even one minute & if you get the hex can usb it will work on all vag cars so if have mate, family member or wanna help someone on AS it will work for them aswell, also free updates & support to date.

Wesley got it for £230 delivered from MI-Diag other day which is £30 less than gendan.

sounds too good to be true. You certainly wouldnt get any support with it.

regarding delivery, are you in Portugal/Spain?

I would buy one from Ross-Tech if i were to use it every day.
I need the cable to do some coding with RNS-e , new Tail lights etc.Nothing extreme

Thats why i believe paying 250p for a cable seems a lot.
The seller emailed me saying the cable works just fine and i wont have any problems.
How could i avoid updating the cable then?

Living in Greece a.t.m.

Yeah thats what I also was told until they all went wrong, anyway for what you're doing the cable pays for itself in 1st use if you consider audi's charges, also it starts on small things then you get hooked, lol.