Newbie here - performnace upgrades for A4 TDI's?

ping

Reaction score
Just reg'd today and wondered what people do with their A4 TDI 130's?

I've had to let an Imprezza Turbo MY00 (old shape) go /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cry.gif ECU remap to 275 BHP and 265 lbft /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif :- just tooooo expensive to run as my annual mileage has increased.

The A4 5 speed Sport is PDG, but I've been looking at various remap options - AMD, Revo, Superchips, etc and wondered what you all think - any advice re:

performance
engine longevity
economy
warranties ... eek - it's only 8 months old.

Also any simple things - air filters, etc.

Any comments would be gratefully received.

Thanks in advance

steve@rpc.eu.com

Has any one any comments on Upsolute upgrades ... their pricing is very, very low ..?

Upsolute aren't one of my top choices, but nevertheless they are known and I'm sure people that have the chip are no doubt happy, however I always feel that you get what you pay for, and I believe this is definitely true of chip tuning.

The first big hurdle you face is warranty, chipping will void your warranty in relation to failures believed to be caused by the chip, having said this there are more and more dealers in the UK who are taking responsibility for the chipping and any warranty implications. ....and why not as failures related to chips are very few and far between, in fact honestly I have not come across a substantiated case which shows that a chip has caused a failure.

The VAG engines are built extremely well and I would not fear the thought of chipping especially on the TDi's. Why do I have so much confidence, well along with knowing many guys on the forums having their TDi's chipped and a large percentage of TDi's here in The Netherlands are chipped by ABT from new (With full warranty and no insurance premium hikes) and I hear of no failures.