Mint 5 week old S3....no longer mint.... :(

thebluefox

Reaction score
So this morning a cyclist rode into the back of me after a bus pulled out in front of me and I had to stop.

To say I'm gutted would be an understatement.

Unnamed 1 Unnamed

Gutted mate
I had a head on with a chicken 3 days into ownership hence the rs3 grill

Reactions: Ignition1
What happens in that situation, who covers the repair?

I've posted a topic in the insurance section - it seems unless I want to pursue him legally for damages then it's either;

a) I pay and then hope he helps out with all/some of the cost. New boot lid isn't going to be cheap though.
b) I go through my insurance and risk losing 5 years NCB

I am no insurance expert, but sometimes these type of accidents can be covered if he/she has a comprehensive home contents policy.

worth checking...

Don't you have your NCB protected then? Insurance will still increase even if you do.

I'd try and get the cyclist to cover the costs some how. Might be worth discussing with your insurer and seeing what they say.

That's crappy, you should of called the cops tbh in situations like this, so then the cyclist has to take responsibility & hand over there details properly, they're clearly responsible & there should be a cyclist insurance that covers these types of issues, as drivers who are at fault towards cyclists get screwed, why cant we reciprocate when they're clearly the person to blame.

That wont need bootlid, that will be rubbed back, pulled out/filled, its not too bad tbh, only issue is it will need blending of course maybe to the rear wings & roof, as it will go from the boot swage line upwards.

Reactions: Jassyo06
Is it bad I found this funny?

Yep, I'm afraid I had a good chuckle too, sorry Paul!! lol

@thebluefox.............hope you get this sorted and it doesn't put you out of pocket too much

Reactions: Ignition1