stumpy83

one legged wonder
Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to the scene and I'm looking for some help please,
I'm looking at buying my first a3 1.8t automatic is there anything I should look out for
That's common faults???

I've seen a few of the face lift ones for about a grand but I have just been
A bit too late :s

So if any know of any going I don't mind traveling

Not heard many good things about the auto boxes, any reason for not wanting manual?

I'm a amputee dvla not to keen on me driving manuals lol

Hi dude welcome to asn. These 1.8t's are pritty solid if maintained (like all cars) but make sure you dont buy one with longlife history or youl probly need the oil pick up changed for peace of mind, that and waterpump done at the right intervals 60k on. Everything else is maintenance like coil packs and split boost and vac pipes. All in all a good motor. As stated the auto has a weak box but thats un avoidable, just check it goes through all the gears and the clutch is ok. Good luck in your choice.

Thanks guys, when you say don't buy one with long life history what do you mean?

Audi introduced AVS (Audi Variable Servicing) some years ago as oppposed to the traditional 10,000 intervals, it was intended to be a longlife service interval but the reality is it ******** many an engine by running the oil far too long between changes, so best avoided, find one thats had the traditional 10,000 intervals Good to see another Plymothian on here.

Nige.

Thanks for that, I've now entered the Audi owners, I picked one up from London, I'll get the details of It up soon and I'll get some pics up
Aswell see what you guys think,

It's a nice purple colour but on the log book states it's blue?

Thanks for that, I've now entered the Audi owners, I picked one up from London, I'll get the details of It up soon and I'll get some pics up
Aswell see what you guys think,

It's a nice purple colour but on the log book states it's blue?