New windscreen question

scoss

Reaction score
hi I have the reduced noise windscreen. It's slightly tinted at the top. Has this got a different code to a standard one?

Just before I get a new via my insurance, I want to know what I need to specify from auto glass.

Thanks

Do you think this is a repair job?

Attachments

• IMG_0865.JPG
    IMG_0865.JPG
    950.1 KB · Views: 278
Sounds like you have the acoustic windscreen? If so then it is different and you'll need to push to get this fitted as they will try and give you the standard screen.

I'd say that was repairable btw.

I am not an expert, but that crack too close to the edge for my taste. Try to get a new one as the closer the crack is to the edge, the less structural rigidity the glass will have after repairing it.

Reactions: Audi Bairn and daytonamart
Identical to my screen stamp. I've gone via Autoglass and after I gave them my registration the guy on the phone read out the OEM specification of the screen (rain sensors, green tint, sun band etc...).

They're in the process of sourcing some 'OEM' glass.

In my view that's a replacement due to how far it appears to radiate and the proximity to the edge but maybe Autoglass would confirm if you sent them the pic

Identical to my screen stamp. I've gone via Autoglass and after I gave them my registration the guy on the phone read out the OEM specification of the screen (rain sensors, green tint, sun band etc...).

I gave my reg to auto glass and asked if my replacement would be acoustic and have sun band etc. They said it will be a direct replacement as they retrieve the exact spec of the car. I'll be quizzing them on Friday. There seems to be some confusion (On other threads) as to checking if the glass is in fact acoustic. Also, regarding the rain and light sensor, is this easy to reattach to the screen?

I've got wait until Friday. On the their site I typed in my reg and then said they had one available. Do you have acoustic on yours? How can you tell?