Buying A3 TDI 170 Help!

Neddy

Reaction score
Hey guys,
Im new to this and would appreciate any info on buying an A3 tdi 170 2006/2007.Ive heard lots of mixed reviews about them. Has any one had gearbox or turbo problems or any other problems to look for? Is the quattro good in a diesel? I do short drives around London.Will cause the DPF to play up? Any info would be much appreciated.

mixed views on them - personally i have had no probs with the dpf mine has worked flawlessly (my tailpipes still look brand new after 2.5 years - swear there is only fresh air coming out of this thing) but mine is an s-tronic - and i suspect the s-tronic suits the dpf better as the dpf seems to communicate to the gearbox and change gear shift points accordingly to keep the dpf from clogging (never seen light once and i have done 10k in mine all round town work hardly any motorway) thats sais i think because of this i dont get great mpg for a diesel - i generally only average 32mpg and that isnt hammering it everywhere either - on a good run it does still do 50s though

I've got a Jan 2007 170 quattro 6sp manual and can thoroughly recommend it. Driving is a mix of short town hops & long distance motorway hacks. No issues with DPF or gearbox so far (fingers crossed!) and the quattro is well worth the investment IMHO as it gives the car amazing grip in all weathers - it goes round corners like it's on rails.

I'm not saying ignore everything you read but I was also really concerned with the possibility of DPF issues after researching the model. I've had my car for almost 12 months and covered circa 8,000 miles without any DPF issues. I use it for a mix of short and long journeys.

Really happy with mine.

Quattro is a must - getting that amount of torque down through just the front wheels is not a good plan.

Quattro is a must - getting that amount of torque down through just the front wheels is not a good plan.