Absolute beginner on a budget - Help!!

chris1978uk

Reaction score
So I've taken delivery of my new Brilliant Black A3 Sportback. The sun shone on its first day and on arriving home I found out its absolutely covered in swirl marks :sob: . My last car was a bright green Fiesta and after 7 years showed no swirls or scratches, in the last 4/5 years I mostly let the local £5 hand car wash do the cleaning for me and only washed it myself a handful of times. Needless to say I'll be throwing out the old sponges and chamois and starting from scratch (I've got plenty of them!) with the A3 and won't be going near a car wash.On the A3 section of the forum I've been recommended some products to rectify the swirls, so now I'm putting together an order on Slims website and hope someone can advise what I need to get started.

Please bear in mind that I'm a careful but basic car washer and an absolute novice at any kind of polishing/waxing/detailing, so I want options that an idiot can easily manage! :sos:

The dealership gave me a kit of 8 AutoGlym products (from memory - shampoo, wheel cleaner, glass cleaner, leather and interior cleaner and a couple of others i forget), and it included a few microfibre cloths and a sponge (I'm new to this but I have seen enough so far to know I should bin the sponge and get a wash mitt). I'll be getting a a second bucket and also need a pressure washer as before I've just used the hose or occasionally borrowed my dad's Karcher - I'm thinking a Karcher K2 Car (comes with a foam lance) from Amazon/Halfords/Somewhere else.

So far I have the following in my basket:
Auto Finesse Avalanche Snow Foam
Meguiars Lambswool Wash Mitt
Martin Cox Microfibre Drying Towel
Poorboys Black Hole
DodoJuice Purple Haze
(CarPro Reload out of stock - suggestions?)