engine replacement????

shelene

Reaction score
:think:Hi, im new to this so here i go.

Over the weekend we have had to be recovered by the AA

We were driving our P reg Audi A4 (1.8t) and the oil light came on, so we stopped at the nearest garage and topped it up. - though that was that.

However next day went out driving and the oil light was still flashing but we knew the oil was okay - so knowing nothing about cars thought it might be a faulty light.

Anyhow the car started running noisily, like a diesel engine then pop, pop and the engine died :(

Wed only had the car 5 months, with 12 mot, full service history, and love the car. The car is currently at a garage but the AA man said it may need a new engine !!!

Cant believe it, i presume if indeed this is the case i have 2 options -

1) find a new engine and get it fitted

2) if this is too costly then getting rid of my Audi, which i doubt no one will want and end up with a cheap and nasty car :(

Anyone with suggestions/advice??? please

A used AEB engine will cost you around £500 to buy. Had you stopped when the light first came on and been recovered home you could have fixed the sludge issue for a gallon of diesel , a gallon of oil and an oil filter as sadly it's quite common for the oil pick up to block up

Unfortunately the red oil light means no oil pressure, rather than a physically low oil level.

The oil level sensor (if fitted) would show up a yellow warning, not red.

The 1.8T engine is known for oil pressure issues, ususally caused by a lack of oil changes and crap quality oil causing sludge building up inside the motor.

Once the sludge builds up to a terminal level the oil pickup gets blocked and the oil cant circulate, causing what you experianced

I've seen replacement engines sell from anything from 300-500quid, so imo thats the sensible option.

and also if the pump ran dry, adding more oil may not have been enough to get it reprimed. oil pressure lights = bad bad news