WHICH OIL IS BEST??

mobil 1 fully synth

Ive been using Castrol Edge for last 6 months and have only needed to top it off this month, maybe used quarter a litre in 5000 miles which I find rather good considering the price of this oil.

Mobil; 1 is too thin,presuming its the 0w-40.The best all round viscosity for road use is either a 10w-40 fully synthetic or 5w-40.10w-40 is a little more difficult to get hold of in decent form,Amsoil,redline are the best grade 'A' synthetic stock oil's at the moment.None of the high street brands use grade A base stocks!!!!

Another good oil which i rate highly is millers,Very good base stock although not as high a grade as the above mentioned but is what i use in every day road vehicles,and never had any issues whith sludging etc.

i tend to use comma fully synth 5w40

its not the best fully synth oil, but i change it every 4-5k miles anyway as i dont believe its good for the engine for any oil to be in there after it goes black, and it usually turns around 4-5k miles, and the comma stuff is pretty cheap from my motorfactors

I realise that proper synthetic PAO/Ester based oils are better, but in a 160k mile engine that uses a litre of the stuff every 2-3k its just not worth the cost.

its worth noting that the only difference between 0w40, 5w40 and 10w40 in terms of viscosity is its thickness when COLD. They will all have identical viscosity once at operating temperature so saying 0w40 is too thin is complete crap.

The thinner the oil when cold then better protection it provides on startup, and even a 0w40 is still thicker when cold than it is once its warmed up, so its cant possibly be too thin compared to a 10w40

your turbo bearings take the biggest kicking when they first spin up and the oil is cool and when the engine is turned off before allowing the oild to cool down to a reasonable temperature.
0w40 is specifically designed to combat this and recommended for turbo engines