Rough idling help

Turrican_Tracks

Reaction score
Hi first up, I’m no mechanic by any stretch of the imagination but like to credit myself with a certain amount of common sense and reasonably handy with the right tools. However, I really don’t want to waste any unnecessary effort if I can help it.

S3 runs rough on idle. Around 700-800 rpm especially in efficiency mode. Misfires a few times so feels lumpy and then there’s an audible click of a solenoid or relay and it appears to right itself momentarily, before repeating the loop. It used to be very occasional but lately it’s been nearly every time I use the car to the point where it actually died when coming to a stop in traffic with the engine light flashing.

Checked with Carista and it showed the following faults on cylinder 1 more or less the same on 4;

6511 - Cylinder 1: Combustion misfire during intake manifold injection detected

Freeze frame :

Priority: 2
Malfunction frequency counter: 1
Unlearning counter: 255
Odometer reading: 202747 km
Date: 16 May 2024 12:47:30 pm
Engine rpm: 1402.25 RPM
Normed load value: 13.3 %
Vehicle speed: 16.0 km/h
Coolant temperature: 93 °C
Intake air temperature: 33 °C
Ambient air pressure: 990 mbar
Voltage terminal 30: 13.339 V

Figured I’d swap coil packs from 1&4 with 2&3 to see if the fault followed. It didn’t so my initial thinking is spark plugs…. Could I be barking up the wrong tree?

Having cleared the faults again this time I got a fault saying something about the idle sensor receiving an unexpected rpm and the exhaust valve grounding in addition to the same 1/4 faults. Sadly I didn’t save the actual readout before clearing them and they didn’t come back.

However; one thing I’m noticing is when the car is warm it’s completely stable. Driving around for 20 minutes running Carista on live shows nothing untoward at all. And when I came to a stop the diagnostics show a clean bill of health throughout.