Lower RPM misfires S3 2007

ILLUXN

Reaction score
Hi there,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I've been enjoying my S3 MTM for a few months now. However, lately when coming home from a 20 minute drive (with some pulls, but nothing too heavy) and the last 5miles were driven at slow (city) speeds. I came home to something really odd, my S3 was misfiring all over the place, litterally as I pulled up the driveway, I was unable to properly drive the car anymore. I left it to rest till the next day and called my mechanic. He spend a good 4hours trying to figure out what was causing the misfires, but without succes. We hooked up the VCDS and as we suspected, misfires all over the place, on all 4 cylinders. Fast forward like 20minutes of idling the car with the VCDS hooked up, the car was running smoother and smoother. All of the sudden the misfires just stopped happening. I've been driving it ever since, and I have noticed some "smaller" misfires are still happening, at the lower RPM levels, but still very easely drivable. The car still pulls like a truck when you floor it, but what happens is when you have actually floored it, the next pull will feel slightly 'off' and I have less throttle response. My question to you guys is what could be causing this.

Apologies for the wall of text. I'm trying to be as clear as possible, and my excuses for any grammatical errors, I'm from Belgium.

I've got a video I recorded to show my mechanic, right when the first misfires were happening:

My S3 is a model that has been built by MTM from factory. It however currently runs slightly more horsepower than stock (it was 330HP stock from MTM), but I am running 380 with a new LPFP and HPFP (LOBA) + a custom remap.
I have brand new performance sparkplugs(NGK 8 or 9) and R8 coils.

We have tested so far:
-New sparkplugs & coils.
-Compression test: only the first cylinder was running a little less than all the other 3 (slap me in the face, but I can't remember the values).