Discs and Pads Change: Advice needed.

Jamie TDI140

Bearded Coal Chucker
Reaction score
Hi all,

Car: 2.0 tdi sport (BKD)

Now I'm no mechanic, but ive done a few things on previous cars and changed a few brake discs and pads before. All im after is some info before I tackle it...

I have all the relevant jacks, axle stands, chocks, various (loose) spanners flying around (still saving up for a decent and complete set), I just want to know bolt/screw sizes and any info that will make my life a bit easier and get the job done quicker, as it's supposed to rain this weekend haha.

Cheers, Jamie.

Buy a metric socket set, much cheaper than buying all the items separately. Keep and eye on the Halfords website, they often have offers on their range. Halfords Professional are the best ones there. I have a Teng Tools socket set, the sockets grip the flats of the nut or bolt, good for chewed up corners.
Buy a rubber mallet, it's handy for loosening and persuading stuck brake disks & pads without damaging anything.
A wire bush and brake cleaner aerosol, everything to do with re-assembling brakes needs to be cleaned and oil free.
You'll need a set of Torx drivers eventually when tackling other jobs like interior trim, bumpers, there are a lot Torxs screws on Audis.

I could go on but that's your starter kit.

Last edited:
Buy a metric socket set, much cheaper than buying all the items separately. Keep and eye on the Halfords website, they often have offers on their range. Halfords Professional are the best ones there. I have a Teng Tools socket set, the sockets grip the flats of the nut or bolt, good for chewed up corners.