A3 2.0 tdi loud bang and white smoke

daveyboy.c

Reaction score
Hi there,
my wife was driving home Friday night and she heard a loud bang :sign_omg: and lost 90% power. She said the noise came from the back of the car. We did drive the car home but it was crawling along. When I tried it on Saturday morning it starts fine but is blowing some white smoke (turbo?) and if I try and hold the revs at 2000 rpm it stutters. I only bought it in January but the dealer is being vague about my 'comprehensive' warrantee .I live in Swansea and travelled to Swindon to buy the car from what looked like a reputable dealer. I am not very good with engines and would appreciate any advice/help..... also any suggestions of where to take it in Swansea if it is the turbo...... thanks

would that cause the loud bang?

Yup - they literally 'blow off' causing instant power loss.

But 2.0 TDI could well mean turbo, but you need to start at the cheaper end of the scale.

Turbos tend to give you plenty of warning with siren noises, they're not usually a sudden 'bang'.

Exactly the same thing happened when my other half was driving mine last year. Turned out to be intercooler hose, the clips wear down (Crappy design imo)

I did have a quiet siren but thought that was normal
A degree of turbo whistle is normal.

If you can accelerate/decelerate gradually and almost mimick the sound of a police cars siren, then it is pooped.

My money is on the intercooler hose being at fault.

Happens time and time again. Not expensive.

Just started it up and I can't hear the turbo at all, it does sound like air is blowing somewhere.... being Wales it is chucking it down at the moment so not the best time to pop the bonnet

Just started it up and I can't hear the turbo at all, it does sound like air is blowing somewhere.... being Wales it is chucking it down at the moment so not the best time to pop the bonnet

The amount of intercooler seals I sell at work for these things is ridiculous.