2006 audi a6 multitronic 7 speed vibration

Matt stone

Reaction score
Hi guys... I've a 2006 a6 c6 2.0tdi which has a vibration through the car but only under load. It has the 7 speed multitronic gearbox.As soon as you release the accelerator pedal the vibration goes immediately but comes back straight away when you go to accelerate.

You can feel the vibration really bad at 60mph+.it also vibrates when stationary in P R D. Seem to be ok when in neutral.

I did a gearbox oil change with the recommended cvt oil last weekend which made no difference

Any advice would be much appreciated

Hello!

So, owning a Volvo 850 T5 taught me that throwing parts (and oil) at things without exhaustive troubleshooting first is apt to get expensive really quick.
If you have VCDS, start by seeing if you've got any error codes. If you do, that's great - it gives you a starting point. I'm no expert on Audis - I just got an A6 C6 with the 3.2 a little under a year ago, but I've taken apart and put together a few Volvos, so if that gives me any credibility, here's what I'd do;

- Check codes. Should always be first on the list.
- Check transmission and engine mounts. You might want a lift and a breaker bar for this.
- Check other possible sources of vibration. Engine is most likely alternative source in this case, since it vibrates at standstill, but even small things like loose wheel bolts or shot wheel bearings can cause weird vibration issues.

I'm guessing that the torque converter will be the first thought in many people's mind, but don't jump to conclusions. That's what gets expensive. Start small and simple, get the car on ramps or a lift, and see what's up under there.

- S

Thanks for the reply. I did have the engine mount selonoid fault code. I have replaced that and the fault has cleared. I've had it up on the ramps and non of the other mounts have any play other that the front snub mount which I have ordered?