99 Audi 1.8t Quattro Gearbox Question

sprushty

TQS Collective
Reaction score
This may have already been answered on this site so forgive me if this is a repeat question, I have tried searching but havent found a definitive answer and I am a newbie so please be gentle.

I have bought a 99 audi 1.8t quattro, the gear change from 1st to 2nd is very tough, there is resistance the faster I try to shift. Shifting in a relaxed manner is still notchy but shifting under hard acceleration feels like it will break something. The other gears are okay, not completely smooth but okay, reverse is fine. Is there a simple cure for this like resetting the gear linkage like in this youtube video: Volkswagen Group Shift Linkage Adjustment for year models 2000-2010 - YouTube

The video describes adjustment for 2000 onwards, is there anything like this for the earliers 5 speed models? Or is there anything else that would sort this bar a new gearbox :|

I know that some people have changed the dog mount bush and this has helped, it may be needed as when i turn the car off i can see with the bonnet up and even feel that the engine rocks quite a bit before it comes to a stop. It has done 114k so things will need changing, any advice on where to start?

Welcome to ASN. Enjoy the forum :)

Welcome to ASN. Enjoy the forum :)

Poor bloke, he only wanted to know about his gearbox issues.. :moa:

bump, anyone?

Not sure if there is anything like that for the 5 speed model, but I would recommend the red dogbone bush as a cheap way of improving your problem slightly. It wouldn't be ridiculous to say that the box itself might be on the way out with that mileage, but the dogbone won't do any harm.

Rocking of the engine could mean that your engine mounts are also worn..