S4 thoughts

S4essex

Reaction score
Hey all,
I've owned a b5 s4 now for 3 or 4 years and absolutely loved it...a fantastic car.
S4 Saloon in black, standard everything, beige leather with carbon fibre inserts., MY2000 facelift. "V" reg...newer style headlights, door handles, digital clock, badge where it should be...:)

As with most things, it eventually gets to a point when you stop and have a think...so that is where I am now.

My wife drives it most days, and her work is 3 miles away...then on weekends I will drive and normally have to go somewhere on a motorway so the car gets a bit of motorway miles to compensate for the stop start...A long time ago I was a motorcycle mechanic, so I understand what is going on, and hopefully that means the car has been treated with a bit of care.....but a bad bike accident meant I cant do the big jobs anymore myself. I also dont have the space here.

So, as it currently stands, the steering lack has started to weep again...I had a replacement/remanufactured rack fitted about 2 years ago, and this is just bugging me to the point where I am considering selling and getting a a3 1.8tqs (easier maintenance I think..more sensible).

The alternative is to get the car to somebody trustworthy, local to me in Essex, to sort all the niggles.+ payment. Ideally, an enthusiast who loves the car too, and will do the right things to get her sorted, and wont rip me off or do a half-job.

So, this is my current wishlist:
Steering rack resolved
*Something* on the front end/back end, making the car track the road badly...the car drives straight on straight roads, can let go of steering and it will go dead straight, but any camber in the road and you have to countersteer:) I had a proper alignment done on all 4 wheels and have the printout, it is spot on. Drives dead straight, except when it doesnt. This makes it a bit fun over 70mph.