Q3 Climate Control 8P Retrofit

Darren92

Registered User
Seen a couple of threads unanswered a couple of years ago so thought I'd put this up.

I've fitted it, requires some trimming on the sides but other than that, its plug & play.

Part number I used for non-heated seats was 8U0 820 043 B.

Looks so far better than the old red LCD!

Code:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Address 08: Auto HVAC  Labels: 8P0-820-043.lbl
  Part No SW: 8U0 820 043 B  HW: 8U0 820 043 B
  Component: E87  Klimavoll  0050
  Revision: 00H03000  Serial number: 8U0820043B 
  Shop #: WSC 00000 000 00000
  VCID: 306B680EA3E37FA1DFB-8065

No fault code found.


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

climate2.PNG


IMG_5689[1].JPG


IMG_6884.JPG
 

S.

Save the manuals
looks good.
 

RS3dan

Registered User
A thousand likes, awesome!
 

S.

Save the manuals
043 C is for cars with heated seats but it has buttons instead of a ring. and it's from 1-3 while a3 has 1-6...
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter
thats really nice, too bad i can't fit the facelift units in my car :(
 

Ash187

Registered User
VCDS Map User
Gold Supporter

dandav1985

Active Member
VCDS Map User
Have you got any pictures, with the rest of the dash board in, does it look good with rest of the lighting/displays.

Nice retro fit by the way.

Cheers Dan
 

The Challinor

Registered User
Good job, marked improvement
 

Ceylon

Registered User
Did this a while back, its much better! I mainly did it for the heated seat buttons as the 6 stage rolling switches were winding me up! Who needs 6 stages anyway?! I only ever used 6, 3 and off. The Q3's 3 stage push buttons are much nicer to use and look far more modern :).

I trimmed the edges with a belt sander, sounds a bit drastic, but it really wasn't bad at all. Approx 3mm total needs to be shaved off each side. Fits perfectly and looks OE :).
WP_20150122_18_34_51_Pro by Tom Kinsman, on Flickr
 
Last edited:

downtothebone

Registered User
Did this a while back, its much better! I mainly did it for the heated seat buttons as the 6 stage rolling switches were winding me up! Who needs 6 stages anyway?! I only ever used 6, 3 and off. The Q3's 3 stage push buttons are much nicer to use and look far more modern :).

I trimmed the edges with a belt sander, sounds a bit drastic, but it really wasn't bad at all. Approx 3mm total needs to be shaved off each side. Fits perfectly and looks OE :).
WP_20150122_18_34_51_Pro by Tom Kinsman, on Flickr

Whats that mounted on the passenger side of the centre console?
 

dandav1985

Active Member
VCDS Map User
Good job there looks much better, I take it the buttons for the heated seats work spot on, really thinking of doing this mod! But don't want the seats only working at half power lol.

Cheers Dan
 

Ceylon

Registered User
Yeah, they work great, definitely working at full power. One press gets you full power, as opposed to putting your hand in an awkward sideways position and moving a roller from 0 all the way to 6, far more user friendly! ;).
 

batch

Registered User
LOVE the look of this! Well done dude! If I wasn't likely giving my S3 back next spring, I'd be all over this!
 

D3mon

Registered User
That's mint. Where to pick up the display model part (8U0 820 043 B) though?
 

pluves1

Registered User
Is the bit that needs trimming hidden?
 

Darren92

Registered User
You need to trim the sides of the unit just so. It looks like factory fit ie the one the car came with as long as you don't balls it up.
 

Ceylon

Registered User
The face needs trimming. I just used a belt sander on the edge to remove ~3mm from each side, maintaining the stock curve. Its easier than it sounds, just remove the stock unit so you can sand a bit and compare until its right.

Is my favourite mod so far :)

WP_20150211_16_03_18_Pro__highres by Tom Kinsman, on Flickr

WP_20150210_17_24_51_Pro by Tom Kinsman, on Flickr

The display changes brightness with light sensor, pretty sure its OLED, sure looks it.
 

Ceylon

Registered User
Nice pics :).

Also worth mentioning, if you fit the heated seats version you'll need to use VCDS to change one setting. The target temp for level three on the Q3 is 65 degrees, this is too hot for the A3 and causes it to automatically drop to level two (43 degrees, quite a jump!). To fix this, with VCDS open the HVAC controller, click adaption, change the value of channel 26 from 65 to 55. This will set the target temp to 55 degrees for seat heating level three.

This feels about right and doesn't cause any issues :).
 

downtothebone

Registered User
Picked up mine on ebay.de for £120 a few weeks back ...
 
S

Scott_Crossley

Guest
Hi guys,

I also done this mod but instead of trimming it down I took it apart and swapped over the circuit boards into my standard unit for a perfect fit. I understand if you have heated seats this isn't possible but if you haven't then it's perfect! I got mine for £60 from Chester, a company called car transplants strips Q3's for fun! They will also post it to you for about £10 if you cannot collect it
 

downtothebone

Registered User
Whats the best way to remove the switch trim above the climate unit without snapping anything? Dont say remove radio as mine is stuck - next on my to do list ...
 

Arkious

Registered User
Hi guys,

I also done this mod but instead of trimming it down I took it apart and swapped over the circuit boards into my standard unit for a perfect fit. I understand if you have heated seats this isn't possible but if you haven't then it's perfect! I got mine for £60 from Chester, a company called car transplants strips Q3's for fun! They will also post it to you for about £10 if you cannot collect it

Cheers, got one off them for £90 delivered which is cheaper than anywhere else i could find.
 

Bazzle

Registered User
I tried the company above but they wont answer my emails. Maybe because I'm in Australia?
Any one help?
 

Arkious

Registered User
I tried the company above but they wont answer my emails. Maybe because I'm in Australia?
Any one help?

Maybe try calling them?

Also, just realised a few buttons are different on the Q3 version. For example, the button on the A3 that allows air circulation is replaced with an Off button. Those that have moved the board over, I guess moved the buttons too?
 
S

Scott_Crossley

Guest
Glad I could help mate, I'm not sure what you mean about the off button? Mine was exactly the same buttons as the standard a3 one?
 

downtothebone

Registered User
Buttons were the same on mine as well apart from the added words Front and Rear on the demisters.
 

downtothebone

Registered User
Use a trim removal tool to prise it out from the sides. On MY2009 cars at least the cover for the hazard switch will come off too.

On my 2011 car the whole thing popped as one ... bought a set of tools from Amazon which worked perfectly. Prised it off from the bottom edge on either side.
 
Top