1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

JB4 info and discussion thread

OliS3 Jan 27, 2017

  1. ed@mtl

    ed@mtl Registered User

    16
    10
    3
    nvm. i found my answer.
     
  2. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  3. lanzo84

    lanzo84 Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    What are the base map 2 settings? I also wanted to know this!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. ed@mtl

    ed@mtl Registered User

    16
    10
    3
  5. lanzo84

    lanzo84 Registered User

    4
    0
    1
    Just checked it out. I thought Map 2 was additive not absolute??


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. ed@mtl

    ed@mtl Registered User

    16
    10
    3
    it is but u can convert it to absolute in Map 6. Some say it's better
     
  7. Salik Sajid

    Salik Sajid Registered User

    218
    68
    28
    Anyone running updated firmware of jb4?

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  8. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    I run absolute and am very happy with it
     
    Salik Sajid likes this.
  9. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    It didn't offer anything that would help me so I didn't bother updating
     
  10. ed@mtl

    ed@mtl Registered User

    16
    10
    3
    There’s a new firmware? R u sure?
     
  11. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    The one I saw was a few months back with auto CEL clear for people running downpipes
     
  12. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  13. Salik Sajid

    Salik Sajid Registered User

    218
    68
    28
    I got directly from George, haven't flash the firmware yet.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
  14. NotNormal

    NotNormal Active Member VCDS Map User

    380
    81
    28
    Can someone post a link to the info and download please
     
  15. EddieRS3

    EddieRS3 Registered User

    164
    167
    43
    Just removed my JB4 from the car, always ran on map 2 and the difference was absolutely insane. Anyone on the fence should take the leap!

    Car is now sold so I have removed the JB4 and Bluetooth kin which is for sale in the classifieds section if anyone is keen !

    Tried Map 6 with George’s settings and was amazing.
     
    Jon Roach likes this.
  16. Shawn8V

    Shawn8V Registered User

    361
    158
    43


    S3 vs rs3 facelift

    S3 JB4, sports cat downpipe, vwr600, CTS turbo inlet pipe

    Rs3 stock
     
    Salik Sajid likes this.
  17. mw1978

    mw1978 Registered User

    83
    30
    18
    Looks good!
    Using map 2 or map 6?
     
  18. Shawn8V

    Shawn8V Registered User

    361
    158
    43
    Map6 at 26psi peak
     
  19. mw1978

    mw1978 Registered User

    83
    30
    18
    Thanks for reply!
    Are You using auto clear for O2 sensor CELs?
     
  20. Shawn8V

    Shawn8V Registered User

    361
    158
    43
    Yes I have on the auto clear feature so I don’t get any CEL, with it off I do get a check engine light but that only happens when I’m driving calmly. Guess being a sports cat the 02 sensor is sensing too much flow.
     
  21. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    I flashed the latest firmware last night and I didn't realise there was an issue until I felt how smooth the power delivery is at part throttle on the new firmware. Try it and let me know what you think

    http://www.n54tech.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50428
     
    Salik Sajid likes this.
  22. ed@mtl

    ed@mtl Registered User

    16
    10
    3
    I upgraded yesterday and took it this morning to work. It seems smoother but will test more this wkend
     
    Salik Sajid and OliS3 like this.
  23. Lehn

    Lehn The van man

    1,129
    1,332
    113
    Anyone experienced problems with the haldex unit? I'm asking because the additional stress on the clutch plates may wear them prematurely and thus contaminate the oil in the unit and blocking the filter.

    My question arose after reading this thread: http://www.audi-sport.net/xf/threads/check-this-out-haldex-pump.348155/
    (I know @RedS3Reilly is runing almost twice the stock power but I just thought I would hear other peoples experiences with haldex and JB4)
     
  24. Shawn8V

    Shawn8V Registered User

    361
    158
    43
    Stay away from launch control when using a tuning box as that’s when the most stress occurs from my experience since the gearbox doesn’t read true torque levels etc. When running more power than stock more stress will be put on the Gearbox,transfer box and haldex unit. With regular maintenance and respecting the car, you shouldn’t experience any issues.
     
  25. Lehn

    Lehn The van man

    1,129
    1,332
    113
    Regarding the launch control; could you get around this by putting 0 psi boost in an additive map6 in 1st gear and maybe 3 psi in 2nd and then unlimited in all other gears?
     
  26. Salik Sajid

    Salik Sajid Registered User

    218
    68
    28
    That wat i do for not putting load on first/2nd gear...... 0.1 on max boost on 1st and 2.0 or 3.0 on max boost 2nd.
     
  27. Lehn

    Lehn The van man

    1,129
    1,332
    113
    So you'll have to have a number larger than zero to make it registrer the boost limitation?
     
  28. Shawn8V

    Shawn8V Registered User

    361
    158
    43
    Finally decided to get a Vbox after wanted to get one for quite some time. Did a few runs from 60-100mph. Not going to bother doing 60-120mph or any launch controls for now as the weather and private road conditions are just too dangerous (0/1 degree temps).

    60-100mph times where 5 Seconds flat in 2 runs, and 5.1 on the final run (incline slope).
     

    Attached Files:

    NotNormal likes this.
  29. Shawn8V

    Shawn8V Registered User

    361
    158
    43
    You could limit boost in gears 1/2 but then that would be limiting the amount of power surely ? I did a 3k launch awhile back instead of 4.5k by feathering the throttle and it launched off cleanly and hard.
     
  30. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    The car only runs a small amount of boost in 1st. The issue is my map 6 is asking for 24psi about double what I've seen. Dropping the 1st gear boost to 3 psi over stock or say 16 psi depending on air temp still gives extra power but doesn't upset launch control

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
  31. boydyski

    boydyski Registered User

    165
    113
    43
    Hi all,

    I have a JB1 installed on my 2015 S3, but for the life of me cant get the software installed on my laptop. I have been in conversation with George from Burger Motorsport but still no luck...think my laptop is knackered.

    Is there anyone based in the South London area that would be able to help out at all? I'm keen to get some logs over to George and change to a bespoke Map 6.

    Any help would be greatly received.
     
  32. 24styles

    24styles #teamsolar

    376
    471
    63
    I had the same issue when i had a jb1, i had to change something in the laptops settings before it would work but i was speaking to george on facebook at the time and he talked me through it, think i sent him a few pics and he guided me through it all
     
  33. Avatar

    snack-media
    Advertisement


  34. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    I'm in the west midlands but it should work on any laptop with usb.

    Other option is use an Android phone, I use my S8 with a USB-C to USB-A adaptor and it works a treat
     
  35. boydyski

    boydyski Registered User

    165
    113
    43
    It's really annoying. I got to the point where I had the JB4 program on screen, but couldn't identify the unit through the laptops com ports.

    The laptop is an old work one and is now decommissioned, so I'm up s**t creek with zero paddles now!
     
  36. boydyski

    boydyski Registered User

    165
    113
    43
    Thanks for the reply. Any idea if it works with iPhone?
     
  37. ed@mtl

    ed@mtl Registered User

    16
    10
    3
    Try to add a new user on your laptop and then install it. For some reason, I couldn’t install it as well until I created a new user.
     
  38. 24styles

    24styles #teamsolar

    376
    471
    63
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Seems like u have to change the com port to 3....hope this helps but its the only screenshots i had from when i had the problem
     
  39. OliS3

    OliS3 Registered User

    984
    808
    93
    Only only Bluetooth unfortunately
     
    boydyski likes this.
  40. boydyski

    boydyski Registered User

    165
    113
    43
    That was going to be my next port of call but the laptop is now out of action until I get someone from our IT support to come out and sort it!
     
  41. boydyski

    boydyski Registered User

    165
    113
    43
    Thanks mate. I'll have to see if I can install it on the wifes laptop!
     
    24styles likes this.
  42. Lehn

    Lehn The van man

    1,129
    1,332
    113
    I know it's a pretty specific question but have anyone done the following comparison? If so, what was your impression?

    Dynamic mode, ESC Off (or Sport), acceleration from stand still:
    1. Boost limited in 1st (0.1 psi) and launch control
    2. No boost limit in 1st and just flooring it without launch control
     
  43. GregS3

    GregS3 Member

    129
    108
    43
    Hi guys, looking for some advice regarding the JB4 before I bite the bullet;

    1. How do you switch between maps 1-8 (or however many there are)? Laptop every time if I don't purchase the Bluetooth hardware & software?

    2. I noticed that you have to puncture a rubber bung in the bulkhead for an OBD2 connection - my understanding was that there were only 3 connectors to disturb (camshaft, boost & MAF sensors) - what does the OBD2 connection do?

    3. Where does the JB4 unit receive its power supply from? Is it picked up from one of the wires in the loom or do you have to tap into a 12V source?

    Cheers,

    Greg.

    PS cracking thread @OliS3
     

Share This Page

Do Not Sell My Personal Information