US or UK

bombhead

Reaction score
Hello,
Im new to Audi's and this forum so hello. I have a question about buying VCDS. Am I missing something, but when you go onto Rosstech's US site its $200 (£156) for the 3 VIN enthusiast cable, but Gendans, the cheapest place Ive seen it here is £225, surley it cant be £69 for shipping and tax if there is any. Are there different regional versions??

We also have 20% VAT (sales tax) that is included in the UK price.

By the time you factor in customs, vat, import duty etc it's better buying it from a uk supplier.

Negative, sales tax was included and import duty isnt that much, however shipping was $94.....for a cable. UK it is then.

Maybe if you wait a short while after the world will be beating a path to your door as promised by the lard chap, you will have tariff free trade with the US, and can get it for $200.
Oh dear, I forgot though for this privilege you voted to reduce the £-$ 20%, so guess you are stuck with the higher price either way!

I made the mistake of ordering direct from Ross-Tech. The cable and shipping was cheaper than getting it from the UK however I got raped with £56 customs charges for the pleasure of ordering from the US. which made it a lot more expensive than getting it from the UK.

I honestly didnt think custom charges would be that much, have had a few bits from the states but never been stung that much. Guess that answers my question though, cheers for letting me know. Uk it is then.

Reactions: EXSpartan36
Generally custom charges aren't to bad on normal stuff. They always sting me when I order tools tho so I only do it as a last resort now.