temp not going over 69C

I

imported_Tariq

Hi does anyone know why my car doesnt seem to go over 69C and always seems to be running cold!

Any help would be appreciated

One more thing i've already replaced the coolant temp sensor with no joy to the problem!

I've got the same problem! I changed the temp sensor, and the 'stat, neither of which have solved the problem. It gets upto 90oC when stationary, but not when moving. I'm going to change the O-ring on the stat, just in case its not sealing.

Rich

I have the same problems as you Rich. Recently had a service but nothing showed on VAG com as being a problem. Let us know if changing the oring works.

Cheers

hey dont mean to sound dumb but where is the o ring located and how do i remove it

(i'm a learning diy mechanic!!)

The O-ring that seals the thermostat - It should have solved the problem when i changed teh stat, but i didnt change the O ring and thats the only thing i can think of.

Rich

[ QUOTE ]
I hope that is all it is Rich, how many miles on the engine?

[/ QUOTE ]

just trying to think of other things. Just wondered if the head gasket or something could be causing back pressure and stopping the thermostat from shutting except on idle when the revs are down and less pressure. Its unlikely tho, just a thought /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

Did a compression test the other day - all cylinders were at 152psi (10.4bar) which is pretty ****** good considering that the lower limit is 100psi(7bar). I think the head gasket is in pretty good condition...No oil in water, or water in oil so all looks fine there. Maybe i've just got a dodgy 'stat!? It wont get above 77oC when moving which is annoying!

So, anymore ideas??

Rich

hi Finally sorted the problem out!! Turns out it was a broken connector from the control box to the fan.

This was causing the fan to constantly stay on hence low temp.