1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSE +Alpine KCE-425i : do I specifically need a Kufatec interface??

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by popes996, Apr 3, 2013.

  1. popes996

    popes996 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    As above really; I have the KCE-425i now and am sorting the VIM SW; is a Kufatec interface the only option?
     
    #1 popes996, Apr 3, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    On which rns-e?
     
  4. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    Yes, an RNS-E Multimedia Adapter (Kufatec or other) is the only way to get video input onto your RNS-E. In your case the Multimedia adaptor would plug into the RNS-E and the Apline iPod unit plug into the multimedia adapter.

    I'm currently in the middle of dismantling my Rear View Camera setup so will have a multimedia adapter for sale if interested.

    Also note that you can only perform the VIM on the MK1 RNS-E.
     
  5. popes996

    popes996 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    2006 B7 8E 2.7Tdi - RNSE with cd/tv button - how much for the adaptor?

    I'm gathering bits up to throw at the car and as I'll need some coding doing I plan on doing it all at once......

    [​IMG]
     
  6. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    Loving the avant, especially with the rotors, looks awesome.

    This is pretty much the same as I have MULTIMEDIA INTERFACE AUDI RNS-E A3 A4 A6 adapter 0003 | eBay.

    I paid £110 in December for it, I'd sell it on for £80.

    Bare in mind its still connected to my car so I'd need to strip it out when I get the time. The interface also has a CAM input so you could install a RVC if you wanted to.
     
  7. popes996

    popes996 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks; loving the car - got rid of GTTDI for a Golf estate when littlun came along, happy to be back in something with a bit of luxury!!

    I'll have the adaptor when you're ready; Paypal OK? Let me know when it's out ;)
     
  8. popes996

    popes996 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Righto! Been buying and collecting and about to attack the RNSE mods - have done SDS and mic mods this weekend and have Cruise Control kit from TPS arriving tomorrow; bit the bullet and ordered VCDS so I can do my own fiddling - Any movement with your adaptor??
     
  9. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    Hey Popes, sorry for the delay!

    Just handed in my final assignment tonight so I can finally get about removing mods from my car.

    I need to look at the adaptor as I've got a problem with my RVC as I get a distortion on the screen at the top which is either from the camera or the interface, so I need to find out which one is at fault as I don't want to send you the adapter if you're going to get a distorted picture too.

    Heres the video of my distorted Rear View Camera:

    Audi A3 RNS-E MK2 Rear View Camera - Auto Switch Glitch - YouTube
     
  10. popes996

    popes996 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mrs still on at me about ipod adaptor - is yours still a possibility?
     

Share This Page