Audi A4 1.9TDi died and won't start (interesting problem?!)

The Progenator

Reaction score
Hi all, another newbie here:- if this has already been threaded up then I apologise, but i have been searching for answers on the net for the past 8 hours with no joy so would be very grateful for some help:

My 1996 Audi A4 started losing power on a long run, and died after some 30 miles. I tried and tried to start it but to no avail. After over an hour, after some nagging from my wonderful girlf I gave it another go and.. hey presto it ran after I had bled the injectors and wiggled the wiring to the injector pump and took out the plunger in the stop solenoid (though it would not start when I had first done all this). Well, it ran for about 100 yards. Then stopped, never to go again...

The run up to this perhaps is that she has been smoking heavily when revved hard (car not girlfriend) when stationary. She splutters, gives off a lot of black smoke, a lot of carbon comes out of the exhaust and she often dies, but always starts again. But she always seemed to run ok (fairly normal smoke) at reasonable revs.

She's not using any oil, never has. She normally starts fine whether hot or cold. The glow plug sign comes on - indeed all the dash lights come on as normal and go off as they should. Sometimes there has been s a 3 beep series audible when I start her, but not always.