1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wiring up push start and re coding new instrument cluster help?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Danny Cawsey, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. Danny Cawsey
    Offline

    Danny Cawsey Cawsey

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've fitted an ignition switch and push start button to the dash about a year ago and never got round to wiring it all up.
    I'm not over confident when it comes to electrics so does anyone have any photos of the cables coming out the back of the key barrel and able to label which is ignition etc?

    As for the instrument cluster I've bought a second hand one to replace mine but not sure how to re code it,
    I've bought a copy of vagtacho and cable but do i need vagcom as well? can anybody give me instructions on how to reprogram the new cluster to my car or is there a guide online somewhere?

    T
    hanks in advance
    #1
  2. Danny Cawsey
    Offline

    Danny Cawsey Cawsey

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    15
    Anyone? :(
    #2
  3. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    If you can post me both clusters or the new cluster and ecu i can program and return them. Fail in that buy vcds from NHN on here, and look on rosstech website for the correct proceedure. As you have a 'copy' of vag tacho I'd not like to advise you on how to use it. Maybe a local auto locksmith could do the job for you?
    #3
  4. JimS3
    Offline

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    63
    Version 3 of vag-tacho should work fine, under the menu top left select 'connect VDO Old'. Once it has connected click the 'Read pin' button to reveal the 4 digit code. You can do this with the old and new cluster to gain the pin for both.

    As mentioned the vag-com part is detailed on the rosstech website, just make sure you note down the old soft coding before removing the old cluster.
    #4
  5. Danny Cawsey
    Offline

    Danny Cawsey Cawsey

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    15
    Ok thanks guys, ill give it ago next week and hopefully be able to sort it out.
    #5
  6. CabbageGT
    Offline

    CabbageGT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    May I ask how you got on with this? I'm having to do the same procedure myself.
    #6
  7. Danny Cawsey
    Offline

    Danny Cawsey Cawsey

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    15
    Sorry I never really got round to it yet, still something I need to do. I got a bit confused how to do it as I'm not much of a computer geek. But it will eventually get sorted I hope.
    #7

Share This Page