1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wire Scheme for Pre-facelift halogens to facelift LED Bi-xenons ? ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by KemiksiZ, Jul 16, 2012.

  1. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 16, 2012]
    Someone told be that I would find it on ELSAVIN, but what is it? How to reach it? :)

    Any scheme will be great & usefull coz my car will be finished in a few days and will be released from a facelift operation :)

    Thanks a lot!

    ( I bought the new plugs - connectors for facelift headlights.. So I guess I'll re-wire the old ones coming from the car with the new plugs for the new LED headlights.. ? )
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Jul 16, 2012]
    Can't help you with the instructions but it's ELSAWIN not ELSAVIN. You should be able to find it on Ebay.
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2012
    #2
  4. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    Do you have adaptive xenons or just normal bi-xenons?
    #3
  5. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    Thnks Mike :)

    Ash;

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us


    this is what I have, its coming from a 2011 S3.. Not sure if its adaptive or not but it has blue things on the back which I can adjust forward - down & sides..So its not adaptive I guess?

    Thnks :)
    #4
  6. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    ok so that is the non cornering version.

    since you have a pre-facelift electrics module and thats what the headlights is wiring into so the wiring you need to do should be as follows:

    [TABLE="width: 500"]

    [TD="align: center"]Original connector[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"] new connector[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 1- headlight range control[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Auto leveller control module[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 2 - headlight range control[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Auto leveller control module[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 3 - headlight range control (ground)[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Auto leveller control module[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 4 - Not used[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Auto leveller control module[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 5 - Ground[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Ground[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 6 - Dipped Beam[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Dipped Beam[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 7 - Ground[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Ground[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 8 - High Beam[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Not used[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 9 - Indicators[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Indicator[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"]Pin 10 - Side lights[/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]side light[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Pin 11 - High beam shutter[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Pin 12 - DRL[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Pin 13 - Not used[/TD]

    [TD="align: center"][/TD]
    [TD="align: center"]Pin 14 - Not used[/TD]
    [/TABLE]

    So to get your lights working you would need to wire the connector the following:

    Pin 1 (new connector, run a new wire) -> Pin 12 of the auto leveller controller
    Pin 2 (new connector, run a new wire) -> Pin 19 of the auto leveller controller
    Pin 3 (new connector, run a new wire) -> Pin 16 of the auto leveller controller
    Pin 4 (new connector, run a new wire) -> Pin 18 of the auto leveller controller
    Pin 5 (Original connector) -> Pin 5 (new connector)
    Pin 6 (Original connector) -> Pin 6 (new connector)
    Pin 7 (Original connector) -> Pin 7 (new connector)
    Pin 8 (Original connector) -> Pin 12 (new connector)
    Pin 9 (Original connector) -> Pin 9 (new connector)
    Pin 10 (Original connector) -> Pin 10 (new connector)
    Pin 11 (new connector, run a new wire) -> CECM (left side headlight to plug D pin 6, right side headlight to plug A pin 5)

    That should then get the lights all working as per oem.
    #5
  7. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    providing he is coded correctly and has attaced the corresponding modules and has a compatible instrument cluster
    #6
  8. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    yes of course but then if he didnt have any of that then he clearly did not do his research and his car will not be ready in the next few days :p
    #7
  9. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    wa wa waaiitt :))

    What about cluster? I really failed from that class! :s :D

    I bought the connectors, and ... that's all :s



    I also did not buy the light switch of the facelift model, should I buy?


    And ASH;

    really thanks a lot mate, great feedback & help ! :)
    #8
  10. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    ive informed you multiple times, your instrument cluster must be reprogrammable if youre fitting adaptive lights, youll need the correct headlight leveller and central electrics unit
    #9
  11. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    No phil he is installing the standard xenons not cornering ones so he doesn't need a new instrument cluster
    as long as you have an f or k module electrics box and the above wirig then the xenons and LEDs will work. Just code it correctly
    #10
  12. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 17, 2012]
    2nd part of my statement still holds true Inc is needed for cornering if you can't code already
    #11
  13. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    Yes Phil, like Ash said; I do not have the adaptive ones ( its confirmed yesterday here :D )

    Ash, I tried to find the mentioned above CODES for an hour or more on the web but could not find anything :(

    I'm trying to finish my homework here :) so if you may help me, I'd be greatful..

    Also this F or K module; I have a 1.6 FSI, 1.6 engine, leather steering wheel with cruise control but not MFSW. Do I have it? How can I be sure? If I let you know my chasis no, can you be sure?

    And if I do not have one of them, what should be the part number? So I buy it from AUDI AS EXPEEENNNSSIIIVEEEE unfortunately :D
    #12
  14. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    PHIL,

    There are manuel headlight levellers in the back of the headlights.. Do you think still I need that central electric unit?

    Thanks a lot, both of you :)
    #13
  15. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    they are not levellers they are adjusters, the level sensors i speak of are on the subframes of the car,

    without the ce unit you will recieve a bulb error
    #14
  16. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    So I can run away with a bulb error only? :D

    Do you have this CE for sale? or its part number?

    Thanks A LOOOOOT :)

    [ My car will be done by your & Ash's helps for sure.. I'm really glad to be a part of that forum ]
    #15
  17. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    CE module 09
    Long coding helper:

    Byte 00 Bit 1 ON
    Byte 03 Bit 4 OFF
    Byte 17 Bit 1 OFF
    Byte 21 (Dropdown box) Select option 5 - Bi-xenon with separate DRLs

    Finalise and test.
    #16
  18. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    There are a lot of key information presented in that topic.. Thanks a lot :)

    I'm pretty sure I'll come back to ask a lot more question after I tried these things and could not make them work! :D

    What if I do not have the K or F module? there will be ONLY a bulb error and the rest will be working okay?
    #17
  19. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    its only a rouge cluster error that you may get other than that the lights will function
    #18
  20. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    if you dont have the F or K modules (high line) then you wont be able to code the car for bixenons so it wont work. you would need ot upgrade your electric module which is a much longer job as there tends to leave silly errors or flashing christmas tree interior lights at night.

    plug in your vcds and go to the electric module (09) and find out what part number you have on your car.
    #19
  21. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 18, 2012]
    Ups, its VERY bad news :s

    I'll be able to see the result on Friday.. Let you all know.. Thanks!
    #20
  22. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    UPDATE:

    New issues about the LED Headlights! :

    So I received the connector without cables & plugs ( Part# 1j0973737 - I took it from Dave by giving my headlight part number ) which made me very surprised & upset.

    I called the Audi dealer and they want my car in the service but due to some conditions my car cannot be there, its not moveable right now.

    So they mentioned a lot of different cable types, like thick one, gold one etc.

    According to that part number 1j0973737, they finally gave a cable set part numbered ( 2 for each side ): 000 979 019 EA ..

    So am I on the right path? Any suggestions? I feel so down right now, I2m waiting for 3 weeks and a new very tough issue popped up :(

    Thanks for any help :)
    #21
  23. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    well you found out the hard way that when you order a part number you literally get that part number, all plugs and wires have individual part numbers so they will need to be ordered separately!
    you are probably just better off getting one of these for you car: Audi A3 S3 8P + TT 8J Xenon headlights adapter cable set, suitable for Bi Xenon | eBay

    have you managed to check what CE module you have in the car? as that will kill all your plans if you dont have the F or K
    #22
  24. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Nope Ash,

    I'll be able to check it tomorrow morning.. If I do not have that module, I'd be f***d almost literally :D

    2 more questions if you dont mind:

    ( If I have the required modules of course )

    1-) the link says not suitable for the facelift models; it means its for my car in order to make it facelifted headlights? :)

    2-) If I get the wrong cables tomorrow from audi ( I mean if I buy the thin one instead of the thick one or vice versa ) is it possible to burn my new phillips Xenon kit? Or harm the leds or whatever..

    I just want to cry here on my butt! :D
    #23
  25. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Ash;

    Also what part number should I have on my CE module? Tomorrow I2ll be able to see my current part number but wont be able to be online, so could you please let me knowthe correct part number/numbers for the CE module?

    So I can be sure if I'm okay or f**d already :) :) regardless the cable thing..
    #24
  26. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    The link says not for facelift.... you are confusing the statement because you are thinking of the type of lights you are fitting, it is referring to the car as the wires actually connect to the cars CE module. The CE module on facelift cars are different to your one so you need the prefacelift wiring. Many have made this mistake here and have had to either try to rewire the adapter or just buy another one. ( i always try to post the right link you will need... no point in telling you to get a wire not right for your car)

    The wire thickness is really based on the amount of power going through it, you will more likely burn out the wire and not the bulb but remember that burning the wire means a possibility to set your car on fire!
    IIRC the harness adapter has the thinner wires on the indicator light and DRL as next to no power goes through them and the xenons have thicker wires to allow the light to burn for longer time, the xenons themselves are low power but as they are used over a long time they do burn hot.

    the module part numbers you are looking for is either: 8P0 907 279 F or 8P0 907 279 K
    #25
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Thats wrong, if I'm reading right he has led drl so he has to code as:

    06,Bi-Xenon Front Light with LED Daytime Running Lights

    TBH its the startup current that the wire thickness is for mainly.
    #26
  28. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Okay, great feedback again Ash, thanks a lot.

    So I'll try to be sure about; putting the thicker wires on the xenon connections & leds + signals to thinner ones.. If I have a thinner & thicker wire in my set! :)

    Should this topic go sticky? There are a lot of great info here.. ?
    #27
  29. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    oops thats me copy and pasting without looking properly! thanks nige
    #28
  30. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    EDITING:

    NHN; what do you mean here?

    TBH its the startup current that the wire thickness is for mainly.

    And what is the final coding route? :)
    #29
  31. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Just follow what elsawin states for the wire thickness required, dont use what you are guessing is correct, follow the correct wiring scheme & check with etka parts catalogue.

    Make sure you pin the ground wires correctly, dont just use any ground wire to any ground pin, be specific, do your research within the wiring schematics as some grounds are shared & you dont want to put the wrong one in the wrong place, remember each circuit is designed for a specific load, so changing the load can cause fires if overloading as such.

    The startup current/voltage is more for the xenons, hence the warnings you see on igniter modules.
    #30
  32. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Thanks NHN :)

    Any possiblity to find ETKA as online, the related pages? I will not have any etka tomorrow :)
    #31
  33. *Müllërz
    Offline

    *Müllërz REVOlutionary

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    I thought only the k would work?
    #32
  34. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    nope the F works too!
    #33
  35. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Which one has the MFSW possibility? ( I do not have it right now ) or I'm totally on the wrong shipp and none of them related about the MFSW thing? :)
    #34
  36. *Müllërz
    Offline

    *Müllërz REVOlutionary

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    F module is 23 bytes if i am correct? where as a K is 30 bytes, any diffrences in what they give you?
    #35
  37. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    Mfsw is on the steering control module, nothing to do with the CE module. for the mfsw you need to make sure you have the part number 8P0 953 549 F and then code the module to work with mfsw.

    there are a few options extra like advanced DIS options but nothing major form what i remember
    #36
  38. KemiksiZ
    Offline

    KemiksiZ Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    132
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    You are the most appreciated person theseee days :D
    #37
  39. *Müllërz
    Offline

    *Müllërz REVOlutionary

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    ash is good lad always helpful
    If you could provide some specific diffrences am sure everybody would appreciate it
    #38
  40. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,540
    Likes Received:
    405
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    I would need to have both modules in their cars and have sceen shots of both to compare, which i dont have access to right now.
    #39
  41. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jul 19, 2012]
    next to nothing except when at 23 bytes of code F throws a wobbler
    #40

Share This Page