1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Went in with engine warning light, came out wthout £650!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by tobycruse, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. tobycruse
    Offline

    tobycruse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    Thats what happened.

    Not so long ago the engine warning light came on on the dash. So, i phone audi and let them have a look at it. First reply was "its been remapped, we arnt touching that!"

    Took it back saying i need it fixed, its nothng to do with the remap, they had a look, and came back with " the whole ECU needs to be replaced!"

    I questioned it loads of times saying i have never heard of an entire ECU being replaced but apparently it happens all the time!

    In hind sight, after the replacement ECU was installed the car is running really well, so it should for £650.

    Has anyone else heard of this? An entire ECU replacement? I find it a bit odd....
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    Not a common problem, but it has been known. Just hope it wasnt the remap that killed it?! Who was the mapping done by?
    #2
  4. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    It says AmD in his sig.
    I once had a fault with my cooling fans in my old A3. I knew the fault was a loose wire which was easily repairable but as it was under warranty I took it in. When I asked the dealer what the problem was he said: "Dunno - we just replaced the whole unit. We don't look at items under warranty."

    I'm sure this ECU didn't need replacing - buut they've got you by the swingers if they sussed it was remapped.
    #3
  5. phope
    Offline

    phope New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    It's occasions like this, that VAGCOM is invaluable. The cost of a genuine cable and software is a wise investment, considering what cost you've incurred

    At least you have a fighting chance of getting the fault codes read first, and doing a little bit of research on the likely causes of the fault first, before going to a dealer

    Did they provide you with a print out of the stored fault codes?
    #4
  6. Morgan-VAGCHECK
    Offline

    Morgan-VAGCHECK Foot to the floor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    Hmm did they replace the ECU for an internal memory checksum error by chance ?

    I think this is quite possibly going to be the case !
    #5
  7. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    178
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    How did the dealer know it was remapped?
    Ive never heard of a dealer detecting a remap before?
    In fact Ive never heard of an ECU being changed before?

    It is true thought that dealers rarely do any meaningful investagative and proper old fashioned diagnostic work.
    It a case of old one out, in the bin, new one in and fingers crossed.
    #6
  8. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    Very few things can go wrong with an ECU, problems could be corrupted data and software or something like water ingress.

    Did you get to keep the old ECU?
    #7
  9. tobycruse
    Offline

    tobycruse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    I'm not sure how the dealer knew it was remapped, the girl wo ws dealing with my car phoned up and knew....

    I will be investing in a VAG-com when i get my S3 to avoid problems like this!

    I didnt ask for a list of the fault codes, i will do next time, you live and you learn eh?

    What is an internal memory checksum error? I know a checksum is a code to ensure the other parts/code of the ECU are working correctly by spitting out the correct sum, but not sure what a memory checksum error is?
    #8
  10. tobycruse
    Offline

    tobycruse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    Should have asked for it! Do you think it would look good on my wall?
    #9
  11. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 3, 2008]
    I'd want it back, take it to who remapped it. If nothing else they might be interested in looking at it to see if it may have had anything to do with the remap.
    #10
  12. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    I would have it back to make sure that they have actually changed the ECU and also you could see it could be reflashed if the data had been corrupted.
    #11
  13. S3 Big Andy
    Offline

    S3 Big Andy Stealth Beast Baby Yay

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Pretty sure amd would want to know and may well have fixed it for you cheaper.
    I have told my dealer mine is re mapped, and I tell them to prove to me my re map caused the problem, so far everything has been done under warranty!!
    #12
  14. Morgan-VAGCHECK
    Offline

    Morgan-VAGCHECK Foot to the floor

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Its exactly what it describes..

    Get yourself down to the dealers ask what faults were stored that deemed it neccesary to replace the ECU, & ask for your old ECU back as someone else has already suggested.
    #13
  15. bacardi
    Offline

    bacardi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    £650 for an ECU, how on earth do they justify this for a rather slow PC in a sealed metal box?! They must produce thousands of them!
    #14
  16. kaz219
    Offline

    kaz219 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Mate, you should have gone back to the guys that remmaped it.

    I has a similar issue with my uncles LCR and we took it back to awesome GTI and they re-remapped it and the light went off and car was running fine...

    There was also the sensor inthe exhaust that has to be removed or something like that :S

    £650 is a lot of money, ring up the guys who remaped it and see what they have to say...
    #15
  17. shaun@amdessex.com
    Offline

    shaun@amdessex.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Hi

    Sorry to hear about this problem. I have sent you a PM. Please call.

    Will be very surprised if ECU needed replacing? New one on me.

    Shaun.
    #16
  18. a3norwich
    Offline

    a3norwich Not anymore - Back 2 BMW (shh)

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Presumably you should be knocking on the door of the remapper and asking for £650?
    #17
  19. tobycruse
    Offline

    tobycruse Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Will give audi a call tomorrow and Amd. We will get to the bottom of this. Should have posted the problem on here before hand, feeling a bit gutted now... Hope Audi still have the old ECU and the printouts, surely they would keep them for good measure? Anywho, will write up tomrorow when i know whats what. On the plus side the car is running really well....
    #18
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Definitely get the ECU back as its yours anyway & let AMD have a nosey at it as its unusual & I'm sure they can check it out & you never know it might get you some money back if they 1st cant provide you with your property so they need to reimburse you for a lost ECU, play that card trust me if you say you want your property & they've binned it then you say well they owe you for that unit, worth a try & 2nd if AMD can prove the ecu could of been rectified or wasnt actually at fault.
    #19
  21. block
    Offline

    block Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 18, 2008]
    Ive just noticed this thread could have something to do with my fault and a few others, toby can i just ask weather your car also had a misfire when the ecu light came on?
    #20

Share This Page