1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very similar reply to westys turbo reply from turbo dynamics...

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by BD's S3, Oct 25, 2011.

  1. BD's S3
    Offline

    BD's S3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    I sent my turbo off to turbo dynamics , the same place as westy did in his build thread, i have a KO4 off a BAM S3, now i received a phone call that was almost exactly the same as westy described in his thread on page 2 explaining same cracks as him, now id read that thread before hand and asked him to send me pictures to show me and it might just be me but after comparing the photos against each other there was some very close similarities as to were the cracks were on both sets of pictures, take a look at westys build thread page two and mine, am i just being paranoid that theyre trying to rip me off or am i right to have suspitions ?
    Ive turned the top picture upside down to help compare to westys picture, please let me no your thoughts, thanks

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 25, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,126
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    Yours...
    [​IMG]

    Westy's...
    [​IMG]


    Yours...
    [​IMG]


    Westy's...
    [​IMG]

    Westy's looks like its been cleaned where as yours hasn't... the turbine opening is difficult to tell tbh but.... looking at the crack patterns for the wastegate, yours and his look fairly similar...

    In fairness I have seen a few turbo housing and they do crack in more or less the same places... this is partially due to there being inherent weaknesses in the housings that affect all housings

    Here is a pic on my K04 after I removed it to go BT... you can see its cracked in the same place...
    [​IMG]

    ...and of course on my GT30...
    [​IMG]

    Fact is, they crack... feck all that can be done really other than make sure EGT's are well under control which is difficult enough on K04's tbh

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    Can't you go and have alook at the turbo yourself,so you can see the issues?
    #3
  5. BD's S3
    Offline

    BD's S3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    I would love to but im in coventry and there in dorset and without my car would be difficult and would maybe be an unnecessary cost, to a spiralling cost as it is, suppose ill have to bite the bullet and get a new one, i just wondered if its the same story this company uses to rake in more cash from each turbo they get but i guess after youve sent it its hard to proove or disprove the honesty of the person on the other end of the phone and whether what they say is just something they say to everyone, it does look like a weak point on the turbos so it could be true, anyone know the best place to get a standard replacement from ?
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,126
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    You can always inspect the turbo yourself for cracks... whilst not taking it apart of course its easy to see where there are cracks on the turbine housing and maybe take pics of distinguishing marks too...

    That said, TD are a reputable company and I am sure they aren't deliberately trying to rip you off.. these turbos run very hot when mapped (and even when not!!) so cracks will always happen especially as they are a few years old with 10's of thousands of miles on the clock...

    CR Turbos do hybrids for 700/800 quid IIRC and refurb std turbos for 400/500 ish (can't remember the exact figures off hand)... maybe worth giving them a call?

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    Or any1 from on hear that live in dorset could mayby go have alook,take there own photos?,but same i would'nt think so!,how come you sent it of in the first place?
    #6
  8. BD's S3
    Offline

    BD's S3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    yeah i will try them first thing before i ring turbo dynamics, thanks for help
    #7
  9. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    289
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    I'm from cov too BD! Looking at your pics makes me wanna check my turbo! TD are meant to be pretty good tbh! Was you looking to go hybrid?
    #8
  10. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Oct 25, 2011]
    Where abouts?
    #9
  11. Jacko4130
    Offline

    Jacko4130 Goodie Gum Drops

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 26, 2011]
    These look like the same sort of cracks i found when i removed my KO4, Midland turbo rebuilt mine with a new hot side and 360 bearing for under £500
    #10
  12. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Oct 26, 2011]
    All K04 turbos crack in more or less the same place sadly... As Tuffty already said, a problem with running hot on maps.

    My wastegate went in identical places also on my K04.
    #11
  13. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,396
    Likes Received:
    737
    [Oct 26, 2011]
    they look "similar" but not the same... so your turbo is cracked..
    Its what they do... check your egt's and afr's when you get it back
    Westies was running v.high egt's because of a **** map which had no fuel adjustments made to it, which ran lean, very hot and exhaust hot sides will suffer badly..

    check under load with logging and on dyno if you have the chance..
    wideband car you can log it yourself, narrowband will need a wideband lambda connected to check

    If you were coming to the dyno day here for example (I know you cant cos you have no turbo on the car) this sort of thing is logged and checked. Somewhere local to you could do this also I think
    #12
  14. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 28, 2011]
    Turbo Dynamics tried ripping me off with my K04 when it needed repairing! They hadn't even seen the turbo and they told me i would need to buy a new K04 off the shelf from them. Turbo Dynamics and Turbo Developments said the same thing! So i went with CR Turbo's and they said it was bo**ocks because they have every part there to rebuild the turbo! They were telling the truth and it all got resolved by CR, not 1 problem since!
    #13

Share This Page