1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TQS progress thread, From STD-Scroll-Eliminator.

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Broken Byzan, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
  2. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Feb 16, 2014]
    It's alive?!?! :D
    Broken Byzan likes this.
  3. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    im one to talk but, tumbleweed......
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Mar 17, 2014]
    Nothing to add just yet. Lol she has a puncture , er I need a cv gaiter and i'm gonna put oe cams back in and bin off the cats. Oh I need to make a water pipe but bill has been a bit busy so ill continue chucking g12 in. It's not pissing out.

    I think I'll oil change it then.

    She did make the rollers but it blew a pipe, while I was fitting it back on the battery went flat. Then the water leak was spotted so we gave it up as a bad job. Lol iirc she made 350 odd on the gtrs tune but didn't want more boost or timing despite there being room for both. This we believe is the fault of the cams hence the return to oe
  5. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 7, 2014]
    Just had another read of your thread.

    Are the parts you required to fit a TFSI K04-64 as follows?

    K04-64 with integrated manifold
    Manifold adaptor plate (supplied by beachbuggy or badger5)
    Badger 5 tune
    ECU swap to flashable ECU
    Custom downpipe
    Oil feed hose (off another Audi model?)
    Oil return hose (off another Audi model?)
    Coolant feed hose (off another Audi model?)
    Coolant return hose (off another Audi model?)
    3" Maf (from and S3)
    Custom intake
    550 injectors
    4 bar FPR
    Hose for turbo to IC (supplied by beachbuggy or badger5)

    Be good if you could add or correct any of the above please?
  6. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [May 7, 2014]
    Adapter from BBt
    Any custom tuner
    Ecu management depending on tuner requirements.
    Custom dp to free flow exhaust.
    Oil feed is generic braided oil feed hose.
    Oil return is std a4 one with braid removed and an oil resistant hose clipped in.
    Coolant hoses from a4 can be used.
    Maf to suit tune - management
    Tip and filter to suit turbo and filter preference.
    Std fpr
    550 injectors or similar depending on tuners requirements
  7. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 7, 2014]
    Did you get the B5 coolant hoses to fit in the end then? I thaught you needed TFSI ones?
  8. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [May 7, 2014]
    I used a combination of b5 turbo side banjos bent to clear and silicone. None of my pipes are as they came as I've hacked the **** out of them in the past. Lol one has the after run pump in line the other was shortened a few times as it split
  9. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 7, 2014]
    ah ok!

    So you recon stock B5 pipes would fit alright then?

    I guess the most awkward bit is the welding of the compressor housing for the DV, and the modifications to the turbine housing to clear the engine mount?
  10. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 7, 2014]
    What needs done for the DV?

    Can you not just locate that onto the cold side and pipe the blow off air into the intake pipe?

    I could not see the exact details in the pics on the last page.

  11. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 7, 2014]
  12. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 8, 2014]
    Ah I see. Could you just use a t piece and some hose and have it right after the turbo?
  13. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 8, 2014]
    You need it to recirc back to the intake or it runs rich as the metered air the MAF see is not there.
  14. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 8, 2014]
    DV has two connections.

    One goes after the turbo in the pressure pipework, thats easy enough to sort as you need a custom pressure pipe anyway, so you can just get a barb welded on.

    The other feeds back into the inlet of the turbo, in the pipe between the turbo and MAF. As standard the provision exists on the stock rubber hose between the two, on the TFSI this hose is completely different and needs made up by you, and thus doesnt have a fitting for the DV.
  15. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [May 8, 2014]
    I only used the blank on the 064 because I could. Saved blanking it off and moving dv too far away
  16. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [May 8, 2014]
    The tfsi std tip is just a 90 degree hose from air box to turbo with no inlets on it
  17. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 8, 2014]
  18. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 8, 2014]
    Looking at the tfsi setup were marks plumed it in is actually for the oil vapour breather pipe for the valve cover (puck valve on our cars) you could probably use a vacuum DV from forge designed for the tfsi turbo and do away with the 710N.
  19. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 8, 2014]
  20. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 8, 2014]
    The APR turbo isnt a standard K04-064.

    The compressor housing has been modified to take a factory DV, that hole isnt there on a real K04-064.

    Also, the factory DV that goes in that hole is electronically controlled, rather than vacuum operated like on the B5.
  21. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 8, 2014]
    Yeah I noticed the pic comparing the two housings.
  22. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    106
    [May 8, 2014]
  23. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [May 8, 2014]
    I'm on a list waiting for testing. Lol. I know where a ko3 tfsi turbo is in very good condition. ..
  24. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 17, 2014]
    can i ask, is the gt eliminator a worth while upgrade as it looks bolt on for around 900 pounds.

    i would be happy with 250 - 300 bhp.

    i know there are associated mods, but the eliminator seems a good package.
    Last edited: May 17, 2014
  25. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 17, 2014]
    for 250-300 i'd just get yourself a decent K03 hybrid.
  26. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 17, 2014]
    The reason i ask is i guess a hybrid is maybe 700 but for 200 more you get a turbo that you would never have to upgrade again.

    I don't see the reason for a hybrid when the eliminator seems to offer a lot more for not much more?
  27. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 17, 2014]
    I got a quote of about £470 from a place called bernies blowers on face book who came recomended from a few ford friends
  28. jaymodunn
    Offline

    jaymodunn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 17, 2014]
    that seems a good price, as i need to replace my turbo and a bex 1.8t turbo is 180 so makes sense to pay some more for an upgraded one.
  29. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [May 17, 2014]
    I dont really think the eliminator is any better than a hybrid. Your still stuck with the compromised stock manifold etc, so its not really as good as you think it should be. the housings also much more restrictive than a "proper" GT28 so it doesnt make the numbers.

    Mark also had two of them fail, so i'm not sure what that says about their reliaibility...

    250 is easily attainable with a hybridised K03, and with the right bits you'll probably get upto around 280ish.

    Speak to beachbuggy on here. He does a wide range of hybrid options at various price points.
  30. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 17, 2014]
    Pm'd
  31. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
  32. slepy
    Offline

    slepy Extremely smart and handsome person. VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    87
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    Oh dear :sob:
    What now?
  33. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    Like i was saying on facebook, at this point i'd be bolting in a stock motor.

    If the turbos good, bolt that on and drive.

    If its not, use the K03 and flash on a stage1 map for now.

    Big fancy build is just pointless IMO when folk have made 400hp on stock motors (with rods)
  34. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Jun 11, 2014]
    Yeah. I need replacement rods regardless as I think the small end failure has contributed /caused this.
  35. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Jun 12, 2014]
    Ooouch sorry to see that if i had a thing that could help i would but engine parts i don't have.
    Broken Byzan likes this.
  36. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jun 12, 2014]
    Small end failure?
  37. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Jun 12, 2014]
    The dm rods have had a slowly worsening rattle since not long after they were fitted. Seems to be a faulty batch
  38. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jun 12, 2014]
  39. slepy
    Offline

    slepy Extremely smart and handsome person. VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,174
    Likes Received:
    87
    [Jun 12, 2014]
    Jeez, that's bad!
  40. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,597
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Jun 12, 2014]
    probably won't be using these bores again either

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

Share This Page