1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

top speed!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by smudgy57, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    Just out of intrest, what is the actual top speed you can get out of an S3? Although it has 170 mph/280 kph on the clock is it limited to 150mph? Also mine is an import, so because there is no real speed limit in germany does this mean my s3 is not limited to 150 mph, not that im going to try and get 150 out of it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif cheers lads
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    I think the 225 S3 is limited to 155, however the 210 S3 makes it close, 151 I think, but is not limited.

    Kev.
    #2
  4. EvilTad
    Offline

    EvilTad Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    My understanding is that there is a "gentlemans agreement" between the german manufacturers to electronically limit the top speed of their vehicles to 200kph(i think)/155mph. this applies to all their vehicles no matter where they are sent.

    Not sure about the top speed of the S3 but thought it was about 140mph.
    #3
  5. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    155mph = 250kph /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Kev.
    #4
  6. EvilTad
    Offline

    EvilTad Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    thought it sounded wrong. cheers
    #5
  7. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    So if s3's are limited to say 155mph, what german cars are not limited then? just porsche's i guess and maybe the odd merc amd bmw
    #6
  8. EvilTad
    Offline

    EvilTad Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    Sure even M5's and that really powerful AMG Merc CL600 is limited to 155. Top Gears review of that was where my info is coming from.

    Mclaren Merc SLR and poss SL55 might be unlimited tho. And almost definitely some of the top end porsches.
    #7
  9. CARACTERE007
    Offline

    CARACTERE007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    i know the m3 is limited...but the limiter kicks in at an indicated 180+ mph!!..remember idicated and not true mph!
    #8
  10. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    so i wonder how fast say an s3 would go if it was not limited. probaly not much more than 155 anyway........ talking of the slr, im working at mclaren's head office at moment (im a plasterer) doing ron dennis's office etc.(met him too, moody sod) they have the factory floor on show. check out these pic's i took, place is unreal
    #9
  11. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. neil.c
    Offline

    neil.c Senior

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    I would think that the chip tuners can remove the speed limit.
    #11
  13. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    sod it last one!
    #13
  15. EvilTad
    Offline

    EvilTad Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    neil.c said:
    I would think that the chip tuners can remove the speed limit.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    They can.
    #14
  16. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    sorry i've gone off the main subject!.................i think it would be pointless to get the limiter off anyway, how often would any of us go over 155mph, not me anyway lol:
    #15
  17. CARACTERE007
    Offline

    CARACTERE007 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    great pics rallydaz! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #16
  18. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    no prob's lads.... how often does anyone get to see inside mclarens head office....must admit did'nt like the slr at first but now i have seen it in the flesh ....i have kinda changed my mind haha
    #17
  19. S3_MCD
    Offline

    S3_MCD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    155 is more or less the max .... it comes down to gearing at the end of the day.
    that said it gets there easily and still feels safe.
    not that i would ever do it in the UK, trip to Nurburg last year enabled the legs of mine to be streched.

    #18
  20. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 10, 2004]
    The 225 TT wasn't limited as the published top speed was 151mph.

    I had my chipped one up to 265kmph (displayed on climate control) which I believe is something like an indicated 165mph.
    #19
  21. neiloneilo
    Offline

    neiloneilo Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    WRT displaying on the climate control, I can't get it to work!

    1999 S3.

    [ QUOTE ]
    Press and hold the recirculation button. Then press the manual flow control up arrow. You should see a 1c. Press the temperature up ("+") or down ("-") buttons to select a code number. Then press the recirculation button again. The value should display. Press the temperature up or down button again to display another code.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    just doesn't work.

    Can anyone with the same car as mine get it to work?
    #20
  22. peteA3tdi
    Offline

    peteA3tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    it works on my S3
    #21
  23. noodle
    Offline

    noodle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    Is this a 'hidden' feature of the climate control? As I can't see anything about this in the manual???

    Can somebody enlighten me?

    Cheers
    #22
  24. peteA3tdi
    Offline

    peteA3tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    yes you can buy it from ebay for £5 or do a search and get it free on here
    #23
  25. asifgillani
    Offline

    asifgillani Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    Noodle,

    Try this:

    http://www.audi-sport.net/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=1,10,15,105,200,900,1000&Board=a3s3&Number=68932&Forum=All_Forums&Words=hidden&Match=Entire%20Phrase&Searchpage=1&Limit=25&Old=allposts&Main=68221&Search=true#Post68932

    Gilbo /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #24
  26. noodle
    Offline

    noodle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    Thanks gilbo, but the page cannot be found /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Any other idea's where to find out more about this feature?

    Cheers
    #25
  27. S3tony
    Offline

    S3tony Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    noodle your gonna have copy and paste all of address some reason wont work unless you do!

    cheers tony
    #26
  28. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    This should cover it...

    Press and hold the recirculation button. Then press the manual flow control up arrow. You should see a 1c. Press the temperature up ("+") or down ("-") buttons to select a code number. Then press the recirculation button again. The value should display. Press the temperature up or down button again to display another code.

    NOTE: Air Flow Motor (V 71) and Potentiometer (G 113) are not installed in USA/Canada vehicles. Disregard values displayed for these components.


    Code Displayed Value

    1 System malfunction - displayed as a Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC), see chart below
    2 Digital value of Interior Temperature Sensor, in Headliner (G 86)
    3 Digital value of Interior Temperature Sensor, in Instrument Panel (G 56)
    4 Digital value of Fresh Air Intake Duct Temperature Sensor (G 89)
    5 Digital value of Outside Air (Ambient) Temperature Sensor (G 17), front
    6 Digital value of Outside Air (Ambient) Temperature Sensor
    7 Digital value of Ambient Temperature Sensor At Fresh Air Blower (G 109)
    8 Digital value of Temperature Regulator Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 92)
    9 Delta value of Temperature Regulator Flap
    10 Non-corrected specified value of Temperature Regulator Flap
    11 Digital value of Central Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 112)
    12 Specified value of Central Flap
    13 Digital value of Footwell/Defroster Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 114)
    14 Specified value of Footwell/Defroster Flap
    15 Digital value of Air Flow Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 113)
    16 Specified value of Air Flow Flap
    17 Vehicle Speed (km/h)
    18 Actual Air Blower voltage (Volts)
    19 Specified Fresh Air Blower voltage (Volts)
    20 A/C Compressor (A/C Clutch) voltage (Volts)
    21 Number of low voltage occurrences, non-transient
    22 Cycle condition of A/C Refrigerant High Pressure Switch (F 118)
    23 Cyclings of the A/C Refrigerant High Pressure Switch (F 118)
    24 Cyclings of the switches, absolute non-fluctuating
    25 Analog/Digital value, Kick-Down Switch
    26 Analog/Digital value, Engine Coolant Temperature (ECT) Warning Light
    27 Coding value
    28 Engine Speed (RPM)
    29 A/C Compressor speed in rpm (Equals Engine Speed x 1.28)
    30 Software version
    31 Display check (all segments of A/C Control Head display light up)
    32 Potentiometer malfunction counter, Temperature Regulator Flap
    33 Potentiometer malfunction counter, Central Flap
    34 Potentiometer malfunction counter, Footwell/Defroster Flap
    35 Potentiometer malfunction counter, Air Flow Map
    36 Feedback value, cold end-stop, Temperature Regulator Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 92)
    37 Feedback value, hot end-stop, Temperature Regulator Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 92), max. stop
    38 Feedback value, cold end-stop, Central Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 112)
    39 Feedback value, hot end-stop, Central Flap Motor Potentiometer (G 112)
    40 Feedback value, cold end-stop, Footwell/Defroster Flap Motor Potentiometer (G114)
    41 Feedback value, hot end-stop, Footwell/Defroster Flap Motor Potentiometer (G114)
    42 Feedback value, cold end-stop, Air Flow Map Motor Potentiometer (G 113)
    43 Feedback value, hot end-stop, Air Flow Map Motor Potentiometer (G 113)
    44 Vehicle operation cycle counter
    45 Calculated interior temperature (internal software, in digits)
    46 Outside (ambient) temperature, filtered, for regulation (internal software)
    47 Outside (ambient) temperature, unfiltered, (internal software, in deg C)
    48 Outside (ambient) temperature, unfiltered, (in digits)
    49 Malfunction counter for speedometer (vehicle speed) signal
    50 Standing time (in minutes)
    51 Engine Coolant Temperature (ECT) in deg C
    52 Graphics channel 1 - A/C compressor switch-off conditions are identified by illuminated segments of the “88.8” display. See chart below.
    53 Graphics channel 2 - Climate system electrical outputs are identified by illuminated segments of the “88.8” display. See chart below.
    54 Control characteristics
    55 Outside (ambient) temperature, in deg C or deg F depending on setting on A/C control head
    56 Temperature in deg C, from Interior Temperature Sensor, in Headliner (G 86)
    57 Temperature in deg C, from Interior Temperature Sensor, in Instrument Panel (G 56)
    58 Temperature in deg C, from Fresh Air Intake Duct Temperature Sensor (G 89)
    59 Temperature in deg C, from Outside Air (Ambient) Temperature Sensor (G 17), front
    60 Temperature in deg C, from Ambient Temperature Sensor At Fresh Air Blower (G 109)
    61 Software version (latest)
    #27
  29. StephaneS
    Offline

    StephaneS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    does that work with the new A3 as well or only S3's?
    #28
  30. neiloneilo
    Offline

    neiloneilo Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    Noodle, try coping the url link from the screen then pasting into url browser window.
    #29
  31. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    Does this work in facelifted S3's? Can't get it to work in mine either, how long do you have to hold the recirc button down for?
    #30
  32. S3tony
    Offline

    S3tony Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    stephv6 should work with all audi's with cc.

    cheers tony
    #31
  33. S3tony
    Offline

    S3tony Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    it does work with the facelifted s3's works with mine rob..

    cheers tony
    #32
  34. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    As already stated it is German regulations that say all cars will be limited to 155mph if they would normally exceed this, but this does not apply to the S3 as the top quoted speed is 151 and therefore electronic limiting ios not required. As far as I know the limiting factor on the S3 is the gearing/power.

    Whether you car is an import or a UK Audi if it is capable of reaching 155 mph it will be limited as it was built in Germany.

    Chip tuners take off the limiter on the powerful cars such as the S4, RS4 etc... but have no need to on cars such as the S3.

    Max speed in my A3T is 155mph, it will not and could not go any faster.
    #33
  35. smudgy57
    Offline

    smudgy57 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    have you tried then gambba? getting to 155mph. or are you just saying what you know as a fact?
    #34
  36. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 11, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3tony said:
    stephv6 should work with all audi's with cc.

    cheers tony

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sorry mate that's not correct.

    It's doesn't work on my B6 S4 and it doesn't work on the new A3's. I think it was a feature on the last generation of cars but not the current A3/A4s.
    #35
  37. S3tony
    Offline

    S3tony Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    scoTTy said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3tony said:
    stephv6 should work with all audi's with cc.

    cheers tony

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sorry mate that's not correct.

    It's doesn't work on my B6 S4 and it doesn't work on the new A3's. I think it was a feature on the last generation of cars but not the current A3/A4s.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    i stand corrected! thanx for letting me know scoTTy.....

    cheers tony
    #36
  38. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 12, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    rallydaz said:
    have you tried then gambba? getting to 155mph. or are you just saying what you know as a fact?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Well the facts are my car has shown 255km/h (158 mph), so I miss quoted myself before, according to the climate control. I quite regularly have my car up to 148 mph on the clock (which is around 145 mph on the CC), but it would take a long stretch of road to get anywhere near 158 again.
    The Autobahn was very straight and long and the air was cool and humid giving perfect conditions for a max speed run, which took me past my turn off by about 4 miles!!

    I think Drill's had his A3TQ up around the 255 figure as well, and has probably done it a few more times than me, living in the land of the unlimited speed limit.
    #37
  39. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Aug 13, 2004]
    Which Climate control does the hidden display feature work on? I have an 03 S3 with the fully automatic CC mounted under the double din radio/cd thing, should it work on this?

    Does it have to be done when the car is stationary or on the go?
    #38
  40. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:
    Which Climate control does the hidden display feature work on? I have an 03 S3 with the fully automatic CC mounted under the double din radio/cd thing, should it work on this?

    Does it have to be done when the car is stationary or on the go?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It works on all 8L A3/S3's with climate control, so will work on your car.

    It can be done when stationary or whilst on the move, it doesn't matter.
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #39
  41. StephaneS
    Offline

    StephaneS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 13, 2004]
    ok thanks ScoTTy
    just out of curiosity how do you get out of this "special display" mode?
    or is the car normally on number 55 or 59 and you just have to get back to that number?
    #40

Share This Page