1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Things You Didn't Know Your A3 Did!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Jay.Ing, Aug 29, 2008.

  1. mhill

    mhill Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, its designed not to cut out with the clutch so you can work through the gears on cruise
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. pluves1

    pluves1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    118
    Well bugger me.

    I've been using mine to hook a solo carrier bag in the back of the car so it doesnt roll around the boot. Or handy for takeaway bags:yes:
     
  4. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    It should cut out with the cluitch...if you dip the clutch with the cruise on the revs would speed up as you try to change gear.
     
  5. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Page 160 of your manual

    To temp disengage cruise system:
    -Press brake pedal
    -Press clutch pedal
     
  6. mhill

    mhill Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i set the cruise at say 80mph then pull resume at 30mph in second it will pull to the red line, dip clutch and change to third revs take a second to cut back in and it then pulls hard again to the red line. (much harder than then using the accelerator manually) At no point does the cruise control disengage when the clutch is touched, the only way to disengage is touch the breaks or the cruise control leaver.
     
  7. paddy

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    125
    Sounds like the switch on your clutch is out of range or disconnected.
     
  8. SafTT

    SafTT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have Sat Nav and MFSW, depressing the right-sided "thumb-scrollinging thing" repeats the last instruction.

    I never Sat Nav in the my 07 MK2 TT and always wondered what this button did.

    Thanks for the tip re using using the needles on the dash to quickly set the speed warning! Loving it!!!
     
  9. D3mon

    D3mon Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    35
    With the **** weather we've had of late, I've discovered that the car drops the windscreen wiper 'mode' when you pull up to a stop:

    'Fast' wiping, switches to normal wiping
    'Normal' wiping switches to intermittant etc.

    Thought it was faulty at first! LOL, RTFM problem! :happy:
     
  10. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've decided to leave my wiper stalk in the intermittent mode. With the rain sensor pack, wipers kick-in automatically and switch between intermittent, normal depending on the amount of rain falling. Hasn't really chucked it down to noticed 'fast' wiping.

    My S3's auto rain sensor is not over zealous unlike other manufacturers I have driven so gets the :thumbsup:
     
  11. Scotties

    Scotties Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    What I meant about the cruise control is that if I have it set at 30mph in 6th gear and come to a hill so I have to change down the cruise control stays active so it will continue driving in the lower gear without me having to restart the cruise control.

    I will check page 160 tomorrow and see what it says. mhill, do you have a 59 plate car as well??
     
  12. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    59
    This is why I was asking actually! I'm interested to know if it's supposed to be like that though.
     
  13. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,167
    Likes Received:
    698
    I know this is going to sound incredibly stupid.

    But yesterday when I was driving, I never knew you could press 'Mode' on the SW and had the ability to scroll through the phonebook on the bluetooth.

    That is immense. :wub:
     
  14. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    925
    Not quite the same but with cruise set I can change gear on my S-tronic without it affecting the cruise setting at all. If I have it set to say 50mph for roadworks and I'm in 5th. If we come to an incline and the revs start to drop I can click the paddle to go down to 4th and the cruise stays engaged and resumes to 50mph.
     
  15. beanoir

    beanoir Large Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    27
    even in to reverse?? ;)
     
  16. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had a couple of A4's with cruise control and you can change gear in those with the cruise control turned on.
     
  17. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    925
    Never tried it in reverse - 50mph in reverse doesn't appeal.

    I shall have to see what happens when I move the centre lever out of Drive into Neutral. It may well disengage the cruise control at that point.
     
  18. pdv40

    pdv40 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    When the car is switched off, if you engage the indicator stalk (i.e. indicate left or right) it turns on the sidelights on that side of the car.
     
  19. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,167
    Likes Received:
    698
    Sweet, have u been flooded lad?

    Sounds like battery draining exercises to me....Had a flat battery to many times now :motz:
     
  20. Matt

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    No it got close to flooding here (live near Kendal) but didn't. Did cause a bit of trouble for me getting to and from work as certain roads were shut due to flooding but nothing in comparison to what happened in Cockermouth.
     
  21. mhill

    mhill Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    09, did you have any luck with the manual?
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,167
    Likes Received:
    698
    Glad you didn't get affected....
     
  24. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,370
    Likes Received:
    925
    Well I decided to try it today - no not 50mph in reverse, but moving the centre lever to Neutral with the cruise control engaged. As I thought it might, it disengages the cruise control.
     
  25. Scotties

    Scotties Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like they changed the manual, its page 91 of my book and it says

    Another thing I didnt realise is that you can pre set your speed for the cruise control in 5 mph increments above 20 mph and then turn it on and it will accelerate to that speed.

    This is taken from the S3 Sportback owners manual part number 101.561.8PS.20 if anyone is interested in checking for any other changes.
     
  26. s3forthemrs

    s3forthemrs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    this thread has been great to learn about all the little gadgets/options etc! does anyone know where i can download a pdf version of a MY2010 S3 manual?

    thanks
     
  27. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found this out the other night quite by accident :redface:

    Driving away (S-tronic) with the handbrake on and you get a warning on the DIS 'Handbrake applied' LOL
     
    #145 g-man, Apr 21, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2010
  28. mdre83

    mdre83 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    2
    :lmfao: it's a nice little touch hey.
     
  29. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes Received:
    59
    Not just on S-Tronics that :)
     
  30. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried this last week, doesn't work on my 56 2.0 TDI S-Tronic.
     
  31. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found a new one recently with the Symphony. Playing a CD about halfway through, wanted to eject one of the other discs, so pressed Eject, pressed '6' (CD 5 was playing). CD 6 ejected, it then reloaded CD5 and played back from the same place, no going back to the beginning of the cd. :)
     
  32. iwBen

    iwBen Be Gentle
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    This doesn't work for me! :O I've been robbed! :O
     
  33. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    You sure you're holding down the button for at least 3-4 seconds? It doesn't happen instantly, usually a few seconds delay. Could also be disabled on your car.
     
  34. consilio

    consilio Up the owls!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is your one touch function working? If not you need to reset your windows by holding the window button down for a while, then up which should reset your one touch function. Once this is done you should be able to open and close using the keyfob. There is an update for the window module to fix this bug the next time you are at Audi
     
  35. iwBen

    iwBen Be Gentle
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah one touch is working perfectly - and yep I stood there like a plank pointing the remote at the car holding it down for a good 10 seconds :D

    Do you know when the update was brought out?
     
  36. consilio

    consilio Up the owls!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ages ago (years). I find I have to unlock the car, then press again and hold for a few seconds to get the windows to open - maybe try this?
     
  37. iwBen

    iwBen Be Gentle
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah well, mines an 09 so it should already have it then! Nonetheless... Pressing it again just makes the indicators blink saying "I'm already open!" :(
     
  38. smudge_don

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    10
    Get a VAGCOM on there and enable it mate

    My Corsa used to do it ffs :laugh:
     
  39. 964kevin

    964kevin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    8
    Alter it in the DIS menu, might be there, it's where I found my option when I read this and it didn't work, something like convenience windows...

    k
     
  40. iwBen

    iwBen Be Gentle
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ah ok! will check it out later, thanks for the tip Kevin =)
     
  41. iwBen

    iwBen Be Gentle
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    & yeah mate I need to get it hooked up anyway to enable my sodding BT module. Debating whether to take up 347's offer and drive over his way or see if I can pick one up from NHN to play with myself in future.

    Edit: Was in the DIS menu as Kevin suggested :) Surprised it wasn't on by default, couldn't really get in the way but handy if you're walking away and realise you left the windows open or whatever :)
     
    #159 iwBen, Sep 17, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2010
  42. Subaruski

    Subaruski TDI

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had no idea that the rear sun roof opened?
     

Share This Page