1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stupid question alert

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by voteforpedro, Aug 22, 2010.

  1. voteforpedro
    Offline

    voteforpedro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a pipe that runs from the turbo to the sump. If I undo this pipe at the sump, will the oil drain out?
    #1
  2. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    mate you just started this post as stupid question alert. that suggests you already know the answer to it mate.
    #2
  3. voteforpedro
    Offline

    voteforpedro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thought so. Thanks. :p
    #3
  4. voteforpedro
    Offline

    voteforpedro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another question:

    If I drain the sump then remove the pipe, how much oil will drain from the turbo? Need to know what to expect as my landlord won't appreciate my getting oil over their drive...
    #4
  5. trev m
    Offline

    trev m Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    you will get some oil from the turbo oil return pipe

    get a cardboard box open it up put under sump/oil pipe with washing up bowl on top cardboard box to catch any oil and remove the pipe
    get a cloth to wipe away any drops of oil
    DO NOT START YOUR ENGINE AT THIS POINT OR YOU WILL EMPTY YOUR SUMP AND STUFF YOU ENGINE ETC
    #5
  6. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    not being funny/cheeky mate but is it especially new or valuable oil in there?
    why not do oil and filter while you are at it?
    #6
  7. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    secind that. that is exactly what i use when i do oily work, big flat cardboard and a cheap washing up basin from the supermarket.
    #7
  8. SonicDeathmonkey
    Offline

    SonicDeathmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are no stupid questions, only stupid answers.
    #8
  9. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    The sump end is below the normal oil level afaik, so yes, if you remove it without draining the oil you'll end up with half the sump contents on the floor.

    If you drain the sump first, you shouldnt get much more than a trickle out of the drain pipe, but as folk have said, stick some cardboard down just to make sure any stray drips dont stain the ground.
    #9
  10. voteforpedro
    Offline

    voteforpedro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I just cba to jack the car up and drain the oil.
    #10
  11. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,521
    Likes Received:
    300
    Shouldnt need to jack it up unless its particularly low!
    #11
  12. 27litres
    Offline

    27litres Love My Quattro

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just made a couple of wooden steps about 1.5" high from some 3/4" off cuts and drive the car up on those!
    Give me perfect clearance for sump drain and tools & the sump plug is towards the back of the sump anyway, so the slight incline (half a degree!) kind of aids drainage... Kind of...
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
    #12
  13. voteforpedro
    Offline

    voteforpedro Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a washing basin, just a bucket. :(

    I have some ramps but I don't have an engine or steering wheel...

    EDIT. I do have an engine, it's just not connected to anything. :p
    #13

Share This Page