1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sports Dash

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Markey, Apr 20, 2008.

  1. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got one after seeking advice from here, and tried to fit it today and the plugs on the back are completely different.

    My dash has longer plugs than the sport one. Is that just a no go now can i not change them which people on here led me to believe ?

    :)
    #1
  2. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    All depends on the year of car, and replacement dash.
    #2
  3. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    My car is a 1997 and the dash was from a 1995 car which i thought would make them compatable as there both pre-facelift.

    They are also different colours.

    What plugs do you have on yours?
    #3
  4. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    On my '96, I believe my plugs are blue and yellow (long) and the data feed, black plug (short).
    #4
  5. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    Were you trying to get the oil temp and voltmeter? Has your car got DIS?
    #5
  6. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it does not have DIS and i want to have it. I only also have two plugs both long can't remember what colours, the dash i got i think only had two as well.

    The colours did not match between the current one and the new one. :(
    #6
  7. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    There was a split between the plugs in '97. I believe yours is the one from September '97 - August '99.

    They are different.
    #7
  8. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    **** pants, so can i not fit a sports dash now as those dates mean that the imobiliser is in the dash doesn't it ?
    #8
  9. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    The '95 car won't have IMMO 2 in the dash, but yours MIGHT.
    #9
  10. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what dash would i need to get, year ? And how would i get it to work if it ad Immo 2.
    #10
  11. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    You'd need a '95 - '96 dash.

    On the coding of IMMO 2, I'll have to look into that.
    #11
  12. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the dash i got was N reg and its different or do is it a pre 1995 one i have.

    Thanks for your help
    #12
  13. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    that Immo 2 is a pain. Basicly you need the SKC code that came with the car you got the dash from originally to allow you to swap out the dashes. Itherwise it can be done by plugging your car in at Audi while they bend you over and rape you of much cash. Aparently it can only be done live so they cant just "look" the code up
    #13
  14. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont recon my audi dealer would do that for me they dont seem to like helping the retro-fit crew. Could me local VW dealer help they are much better at things like that.

    Siena you said your dash has the long plugs same as mine, so can i not get one of the sports dashes similar to that you have and it just work ?? As you did not need all the immo 2 stuff.
    #14
  15. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any ideas.

    Siena as you said yours are the long type plugs and you have two of the dashes do you want to sell one? Or maybe we can meet and fit one just to see if its worth me persueing this or if its going to be more hassel than its worth.

    :)
    #15
  16. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats this sports dash???

    Is it the one with the white dials? If yous is no good i may be interested in buying it off you if you want to sell it?
    #16
  17. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    Andy, it's not that kind of sports dash.

    It's the dash with DIS, and extra instrumentation.

    @ Markey, if you fancy a drive down, I'll see what I can do to get the cluster working in your car.
    #17
  18. Andy.B
    Offline

    Andy.B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh bugger thought that was a quick way of me getting some of those lovely cream/white dials in the later quattro TS.

    Is there any other way of getting nicer dials in my 96 car?
    #18
  19. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    Andy, the dash in the later 1.8tqs will NOT work in your car.
    #19
  20. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Possibly can you pm me a location so i can google map it and see how easy it is for me to get there :)

    Thanks for your help
    #20
  21. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just found this one and here is a pic of the reverse, it is from a 98/99 car and i have circled what looks like a black connection which i dont have behind my clocks to connect to?
    I know it will need re-coding as well but im haveing trouble finding a 1997 one thanks any advice :)

    [​IMG]
    #21
  22. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    are you expecting extra dials and dis to work when you plug new clocks in, audi's dont seem to work like that, probably what the extra plug is for, had a bmw tourer before my avant everything was plug an play in that
    #22
  23. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    it does work some have said on here im just trying to get some more clarity before i can get the right one.
    #23
  24. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    #24
  25. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    ive got the slightly earlier facelift ones with analogue clock and back looks exactly the same as the ones from your other pic,(another ebay item ive been outbid on?) went to scrappy yesterday and found some from a 98 and these went straight in to my 99.5 and work perfectly (car wont start obviously) dis screen perfect and new clocks have 67k on them
    replacing mine as i knackered dis screen, plus not keen on white dials they look cheap/clutered imo, i like the way warning lights only show when lit on grey ones
    would say neither of these will work in your car, i would try local scrappy's for correct year, got my clocks and load of other bits for £25
    #25
  26. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    olds kkol how are you going to get them to work without the SKC code?
    #26
  27. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Problem is because i dont have DIS in my car im not sure i have the correct plugs to enable the clocks with DIS in them.
    #27
  28. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,579
    Likes Received:
    270
    I havent come across anything prewired that wasnt supposed to be there as yet on these cars
    #28
  29. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    i found something prewired in mine , ive got harness + plug behind glovebox guessing its for retro fit airbag switch?,
    any decent auto locksmith can read skc code, with my quattro being stolen recovered i was a bit paranoid about missing key, so got ebay one and local company to code in making missing key useless(cool diagnostics, staffs+cheshire area, highly recommended) and also gave me my skc code, so if i lose another i can do it myself with vag-com, cost £35 including a new little immobiliser thingy for fob
    audi arent allowed to use hand held readers? they have to plug it in to computer and connect it to another in germany or something silly, and i dont think they actually find out skc code at the dealer
    tempted to get my dad to try soldering to make one good cluster and sell white dial faces, as id be adding 15k to mileage otherwise
    #29
  30. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    #30
  31. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    whats the differnce in dashs?? mine a turbo sport so is mine the sport dash??
    #31
  32. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    not really such a thing as sports dash, markey was trying to retro fit cluster with dis. there are basic 4 dial clusters, 6 dial clusters and 6 dial with lcd dis display
    #32
  33. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so where would that plug into? I would still like to get a dash with DIS fitted into my A4.
    #33
  34. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    it appears to be a mini din plug for stereo?, but on website they have what apears to be a full loom for a passat dis conversion possibly do something similiar for a4's, get in touch with them and see what they can do,
    www.kufatec.de, let me know if they are helpfull as im after a rear leccy window converstion harness and heated seat loom in the future
    #34
  35. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    how do you get those real sexy white lit dials withe the white speed and then red light for the red line section. so much better than plain red????????
    #35

Share This Page