1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Single or double din socket ????

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by lake_m, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. lake_m
    Offline

    lake_m Soon to be S3'd up.

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Considering a RNS-E retro install later on. Apparently it makes a big difference to the complexity of the job depending on whether you have a single or double din connector in the back of the existing radio.

    The question is are all new S3's double din or does it vary depending on what radio you spec (concert or synphony?)

    Sorry if this has been asked before.:uhm:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    "Double Din" is one thing...

    "Socket" is another.

    Double din refers to the OPENING; in other words the HOLE that the bloody thing fits into. -If that hole is the wrong size, you're going to have to do a LOT of work. (hint: search double-DIN conversion)

    The socket is going to be either Quadlock or ISO. A small, inexpensive adaptor cable, and ten seconds to plug it in.

    the Socket is easy-peasy, lemon-squeezy, Japaneezy rice-and-cheesy, yo.

    Keith
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,770
    Likes Received:
    322
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    The conversion is made easier if yopu have the double DIN HU already as you won't need to change the console then. What HU do you have fitted?
    #3
  5. lake_m
    Offline

    lake_m Soon to be S3'd up.

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]

    I don't have the car yet. Just wondered what comes as standard on a new S3 with synphony radio fitted? Sorry for the confusion.
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    All new S3's have double din radio's wether they be concert II+ or symphony II+.
    #5
  7. lake_m
    Offline

    lake_m Soon to be S3'd up.

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]

    Cheers mate, That's what I needed to know. :thumbsup:
    #6
  8. lake_m
    Offline

    lake_m Soon to be S3'd up.

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Cheers Keith - I was thinking it was the connector (not the flammin' hole in the console!) :keule:
    #7
  9. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Dec 3, 2009]
    Yep.

    If it's a new one, it will not only Be Double-DIN, but also have the 'quadlock' conector which mates directly with the RNS-E.

    A little programming with VAG-COM, one wire to relocate if you have Bose (ignore this step if you don't have Bose) and you're pretty much rockin.

    Oh, £10 worth of antenna (if you don't have the sharkfin) or quickly run a FAKRA extension (if you DO have the sharkfin) is the only other thing to do.

    Swapping the head unit over took me 5 minutes beginning to end. Programming with VAG-COM took 10 minutes with a leisurely cup of PG tips and a smile. I have the Sharkfin, but I still just plugged in the in-dash antenna instead... did it while the head unit was out, took 20 seconds, stuck it to a metal bracket (it's magenetic, further secured with a cable tie) and the whole thing was 15 minutes.

    The rear antenna diversity system is different, but unless you're in a VERY weak reception area, it's just fine. I drove to Fort Lauderdale and back on Tuesday including driving through some fairly isolated parts, and I was able to get dozens of stations at all times.

    If you're getting a new one, it'll be a doddle. If you have a VAG-COM it'll be under 15 minutes. If you Don't have a VAG-COM, either take this as the opportunity to buy one (Highly recommended!), or find a friendly local who DEOS have one, and ply him with Old Speckled Hen, Guinness, or whatever.

    Doddle. -Good luck!

    Keith
    #8
  10. lake_m
    Offline

    lake_m Soon to be S3'd up.

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 4, 2009]
    Excellent. What antenna did you use (and where did you get it?)

    Thanks for the reply - it's sounds like a deffo DIY job.

    PS - Is the programming just a case of activating the necessay features (e.g. I'll have the bluetooth module from new so will like that integrated if possible)
    Now, just need to get hold of a VAG-COM :beerchug:

    Andy.
    #9

Share This Page