1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

second MAF !! ??

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by carl310166, Jun 10, 2004.

  1. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2004]
    i took my car back to the dealers yesterday as i had a new MAF fitted 2 weeks ago,since then the MPG has gone down to 24.6 and 26.4 on the two fill ups so far,also the power is still down,50-70 in top in about 11secs,as opposed to 8secs (can somebody test theirs to get a time for me?) the technician took it out for a test drive and plugged in the diagnostic thing! but could find no faults,so after some discussion,they told me to come back next week to have another MAF fitted.

    what is confusing me is,i was told they could not test to see if the MAF was faulty,so why,when i collected the car 2 weeks ago,did they tell me the problem was with the first MAF,did they charge me £300 for a new part on the off chance this was the problem?

    so i will have to see if the new MAF fixes the fault,if not,i will have to decide whether to take it to AMD for a rolling road session,but i need to ring them to see if they carry several spare parts incase they find something wrong,as i will be travelling from outh Wales.

    p.s the car is a quattro turbo should somebody have the same to compare the 50-70 time for me,thanks if you do. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2004]
    I thought you could measure the airflow through the MAF. I've done it with VAG-COM on my car in the past.
    #2
  4. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2004]
    well i am taking the technicians word for for it.
    #3
  5. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2004]
    I'm not saying your wrong. But the MAF might not show error codes if its on its way out, but you can log the data from it.

    I would have thought the Audi guys would know the correct airflow/revs values to expect from a MAF when its healthy and when its faulty.

    Maybe not?!
    #4
  6. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2004]
    sorry if i sounded blunt,i was just trying to point out that i am at the mercy of the dealer.

    you seem to know what you are talking about.

    perhaps they can't be bothered investigating?
    #5
  7. Golfather
    Offline

    Golfather Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 10, 2004]
    exchange MAFs from dealers are 80 quid.
    Same warranty as a new one.
    #6
  8. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    can i ask,has anybody had one for £80?

    i have spoken to the dealer,they say it's not available for my car,and Audi u.k say,they don't know anything about it.

    so has anybody actually had one?
    #7
  9. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    Hi Carl,

    If it helps my brother in law works for Cardiff VW (He has just moved from Sinclairs in Swansea) and I asked him yesterday about exchange MAF's and he said that they do it! Granted he only deals with VW's now but i'm sure if they do it for VW then they should do it for Audi?

    Give Sinclairs a call in Swansea and ask them? 01792 898781 I think...

    He told me that for some cars they only cost £45 exchange!

    But I think this is on the smaller engines. I think you will be looking to pay around £80

    Cheers
    Rich.
    #8
  10. MarkS3
    Offline

    MarkS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    Audi only give tickover vaules for the MAF in there book, the way to really find out if they are working is to take the car to full power (on the road or rolling road) and see the vaules i think that they should be around 140 for a standard car, this information was told to me by my local Revo guy who help me get an replacement one from the dealer as my second one only lasted 20,000kms.
    #9
  11. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    thanks all.

    DickyS3,i have just rang Sinclairs in Swansea...you are right,the part is £75.18 plus vat!!! ,i will be wanting an explanation and a refund from the Bridgend lot. thanks for the info mate!
    #10
  12. Speedo
    Offline

    Speedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    Just to point out that brand new MAF's come with a 2 year warranty. My bro had his 3rd one go only just over a year after he had it replaced - VW are going to replace it under the warranty providing the fault comes up, something which we have already distinguished through VAG COM software - see what Audi have to say about the warranty on the part cos it is a common fault!!
    #11
  13. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    I must be lucky. 103000 miles and mine is still fine!
    #12
  14. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    you shouldnt of said that??? lol
    #13
  15. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 11, 2004]
    Oh yeah!! oops. probably fail on the way home from work now!! :-(
    #14
  16. neil.c
    Offline

    neil.c Senior

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    566
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 12, 2004]
    One things for sure it will not fail on the way to work /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #15
  17. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 14, 2004]
    Just to support HTC on this one, the MAF can be monitored via VAG-Com or the VAG 1551/52 tools as specified in the service manual, which states a given air flow at a given rpm.

    Another thing to bear in mind is that for a brief period after a dealer may of replaced a component on your car in relation to the fuel/ign managment you may see reduced fuel consumption. The reason for this is if they have disconneted the ECU then it will go back to default values until over time it relearns your driving style and self-learns again.
    #16
  18. Speedo
    Offline

    Speedo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 14, 2004]
    I once had a prob with some other sensor which messed up my MPG, i was glad the car was still under warranty but i think the part only cost about 60 odd quid... so it could be some other sensor
    #17
  19. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 14, 2004]
    Gambba,
    i can't understand why the dealer doesn't tell me these things,i would feel a bit better about the situation.
    do you know how long it takes to learn? it's been over two weeks now!

    anyway,new MAF to be fitted on wednesday,then ring AMD to book a RR session and possible chip,i want more torque!
    does anybody know what figure i can expect from a 180bhp engine? i think the standard figure is 170 lb ft?
    #18
  20. carl310166
    Offline

    carl310166 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 17, 2004]
    i test the power by doing the 50-70 mpg time in top gear,thats where it shows up the most.

    i haven't disconnected the battery,i didn't know about this reset thing,perhaps AMD will do it for me,but does this work?

    i hope it can be sorted out soon,i am starting to hate my car!

    thanks for the info.
    #19

Share This Page