1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Steering Wheel - mode button

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by JoolsS3, May 17, 2009.

  1. JoolsS3
    Offline

    JoolsS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2009]
    I've got a standard Concert system in my S3 - when I press the 'Mode' button, the display shows 'NO FUNCTION'. Is this right - I would have thought you could alternate between radio and CD and possibly more?

    Is this a fault or is this the way it's meant to be?

    cheers!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. PTTM
    Offline

    PTTM Pedal to the Metal!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 17, 2009]
    Same thing happens on my A3 with mfsw and rnse with bose. Although i did manage to get it to change radio frequencies once i think. Not something i try to get it to do very often for obvious reasons.
    #2
  4. richs2891
    Offline

    richs2891 I cant spell !

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 17, 2009]
    The mode button on mine activates the bluetooth phone.
    Not sure if can change what the mode button does.

    Richard
    #3
  5. Igdos
    Offline

    Igdos Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 17, 2009]
    Think it only works if you've got mobile phone link up - NO FUNCT on mine as well.
    #4
  6. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 17, 2009]
    Yes its for the phone prep. I would be sure you can program the button to do something else other than being dead.

    David
    #5
  7. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 17, 2009]
    No you can't, it is only functional with the BT prep fitted.
    #6
  8. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [May 17, 2009]
    You can add a 'translation' box to make them do things... but that's not easy or cheap to do as a one-off.

    For example, I have a Parrot aftermarket bluetooth module which has a third-party steering wheel translator box to read the phone buttons... Now I can pick up, hang up, redial etc. from the steering wheel button.

    -Interestingly, the in-dash display still says 'NO FUNCTION' because the car itself doesn't "know" that something else is 'hearing' the same serial instruction and "making sense" of it.

    Not that button... but if you PRESS the thumbwheel NEXT to it, the radio 'SCAN' is activated... -I think you must have been confused and pressed the other button.

    Link to the kit which I have, incl. video showing installation and operation (not me or my car in the video)
    http://www.quickconnectproducts.com/Find/VWsteer2.htm

    Keith
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 17, 2009]
    Isnt it functional even for radio if BT isnt installed craig with a coding for the wheel?
    #8
  10. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [May 18, 2009]
    I don't believe so: -I looked for anything pertaining to it under the VAG-COM and saw nowt...

    Keith
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [May 18, 2009]
    Ah hold on yeah the mode function is just to swap from radio to phone, so the left dial works for radio all the time anyway with no phone, as mode doesnt have another mode to swap to, silly me should have thought about that more.
    #10
  12. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 18, 2009]
    But it is still not functional or reprogramable to "other things", adding new hardware is totally different.

    #11

Share This Page