1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Cluster DIS removal repair and refit (with pics)

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by danger S3, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. danger S3
    Offline

    danger S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    Recently i got my Instrument cluster DIS in my S3 repaired, i just thought i would do a wee post about how to remove it and also some pics of the results and also who i got to fix it.

    The company was allsortsuk2009 on eBay and the direct link is here Audi VW Cluster A2 A3 A4 A6 S3 S4 RS4 RS6 Instrument Repair LCD Pixel Damage | eBay. They were very helpful with my questions before hand and the service was nice and fast and as you will see the cluster looks pretty damn good.

    allsortsuk2009
    26 sussex road
    Wigston
    Leicestershire
    le184wp
    United Kingdom

    Phone:0116|2986939
    Email:jbiron9@googlemail.com

    Cluster Removal:

    To remove the cluster is actually very simple, start of by pulling the steering wheel out and down as far as it will go by releasing it first with the leaver underneeth the column.

    Next lift up the edges of the plastic trim at the bottom of the cluster and then pull it straight towards you, it is held in by one small clip on the bottom of the cluster. (all the pics below are of the new DIS, i forgot to take some of the faulty one)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Once it's removed there are only two screws holding it in and they are shown in the pics below

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Once the screws are out the cluster is held in by three cables, the next pic is of the hole where the cluster was and the three connectors, they all release with a lever on top of them.

    [​IMG]

    Finally the last two photos are of the cluster back in and working properly, I think it look spretty damn good and a month on its still working well and looking great.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #1
    JUS3IN, Nilz, S3_DAVE and 5 others like this.
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,265
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Good results mate and well done on the write up, very informative.
    #2
  4. limbo118118
    Offline

    limbo118118 LORD

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    Happy days looks like il be attempting this some time next year cheers
    #3
  5. Silky
    Offline

    Silky Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    What was the price of the dash repair?

    Same price as eBay link?
    did you have to post it off to them and pay costs both way?
    #4
  6. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    ScottB5 also can do this, as can I via a local technician. LCD is approx 55quid, and 40 labour to do the job.
    #5
  7. danger S3
    Offline

    danger S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Dec 22, 2013]
    Can't remember exactly how much it was but i got a better price going direct, also i paid for the postage down there and he paid the postage back up
    #6
  8. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,294
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    Well guys, it's currently 85+12 return postage, if you BIN on eBay before Xmas day, it will go upto 95+12 return postage after. You still need to post it to him aswell.

    I enquired on a forum group buy, and he can do 90+12 for 5 or more from the new year.

    I'm still thinking about it, as he's closer to me, but Scott has given me a decent quote too.
    #7
  9. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,265
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    Worth making this a sticky??
    #8
  10. quattrokid
    Offline

    quattrokid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    I have bought a complete dash set of dials because my noggy blue S3's DIS is badly pixilated now .. is it a case of just swapping the modules over and will the cars mileage show on the replacement dash or its previous cars mileage ?

    If this is the case, how easy is it to just swap the DIS circuit boards around ?

    Cheers for this thread by the way ?
    #9
  11. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,265
    Likes Received:
    408
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    I dont think its as straightforward as swapping one out and another in, im pretty sure it holds immobiliser data in it, so may not work...im not 100%, but it maybe worth checking or doing a search, as im sure others have had this issue before.
    #10
  12. quattrokid
    Offline

    quattrokid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    Cheers for your reply , I'll ask the master techy this afternoon when I see him... just wondered where the car keeps its mileage record..:)
    #11
  13. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,294
    Likes Received:
    1,689
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    ECU.
    #12
  14. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 23, 2013]
    Just ordered just before xmas eve looks like ill be outside in this shoddy weather tomo !
    #13
  15. sssline
    Offline

    sssline Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Dec 25, 2013]
    Should this thread be a sticky. Very handy....done mine thanks :)
    #14
  16. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    just received mine back today quality and fast delivery around xmas ...
    but having issues with the emmoboliser any ideas?
    #15
  17. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    i have the ecp light as well as the emmoboliser light flashing after tick over it cuts of like an emoboliser
    #16
  18. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    All isues fixed contacted jason through ebay 5 star communication sorted issue within an hour
    #17
  19. danger S3
    Offline

    danger S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    Awesome, glad you got it sorted :thumbsup:

    The only time I've had that sorta issue was when I swapped the blade part of my key into a new black key thing :keule:

    What was the issue and how did you solve it?
    #18
  20. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    Ahh fair play... dead chuffed it was sorted :)
    The issue was when i put the cluster back in and plugged it in the i put the keys in and tried to start the engine with the immoboliser light flashing...

    to stop this jason (the chap from ebay who you pay to replace the lcd screen) said to uplug the cluster for a few mins then plug back in (all this time without the key in the ignition). once this is done put the key in and turn ignition on and leave the car at this point until the immoboliserlight goes out (took about a minute).

    Was all good after that so in summary when you put your cluster back in after replacement before attempting a tick over of the engine wait until the light goes out (it may take upto 40mins according to jason).if any other issues contact jason through ebay he was absolutly brilliant this afternoon
    #19
  21. danger S3
    Offline

    danger S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    Cool, good to know :happy:

    yeah before i took my cluster out i disconnected the battery and then only reconnected it and put the key in once the cluster was back in.
    #20

Share This Page