1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 brake pad question

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by leecs3, Feb 19, 2007.

  1. leecs3

    leecs3 thinking about stuff

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do they have a sensors for pad wear?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. s3_tny

    s3_tny Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah, only the passanger side iirc :thumbsup:
    but my last ones didn't work, the pads just wore straight through the sensor without any warning
     
  4. jcs356

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    46
    There is a part in the car that the sensor plugs into which breaks, so either you get no warning at all like S3 tny or a false warning like me when you've still got 1/2 pad width left.
     
  5. rodenal

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course you could always just look at the pads now and then :p
     
  6. jcs356

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,698
    Likes Received:
    46
    Couldn't agree more! Technology trying and failing to solve a problem that doesn't exist.
     
  7. s3_tny

    s3_tny Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah thats all i do anyway, as i have the wheels off pretty often for a good ol clean so a quick glimpse to check ain't exactly hard now is it
     

Share This Page