1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNSe Installed

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by L60N, Jun 30, 2008.

  1. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Err no... :undwech:
    #41
  2. Young un
    Offline

    Young un Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Yeah it's certainly very user friendly. My little sister managed to navigate through the menu options without a problem whilst I was taxi-ing her & her mates!!
    Another minor fault with the RNSe....only 5digit postcode search. Most portable devices have 6 or 7 digit postcode search. But Im just being far too picky!!
    #42
  3. Young un
    Offline

    Young un Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Sorry, need to correct myself. It only has 4 digit postcode seach
    #43
  4. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    If you have £600 to play with and are choosing between a remap and RNSe - go for RNSe. I think the SD cards are brilliant. My iPod dock is totally redundant to be honest.

    Sorry - I'm a stuck record at the moment. Remap remap remap .......
    #44
  5. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Ive got a BNS 5.0 with antenna if anybody is interested :)

    (PMs welcome)
    #45
  6. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I have a bout 600p to play with ATM :)

    Theres no mileage in selling the Symhpohny II + is there?

    p
    #46
  7. phantom
    Offline

    phantom On Boost

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    I'll find one of you cnuty balls! :)

    p
    #47
  8. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    You could buy an SD card with that.:)
    #48
  9. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    This is where the SDS becomes your best buddy. You can spell out any city, street, house number, intersection, junction by speaking to the unit. You can also call up a list of your previously selected destinations and pick one by calling out a number. You can also push the PTT button on the wheel and say "Navigate to xxx" where xxx is any one of the voice tags you have assigned to the stored destinations.

    I had the Garmin 660 before (actually I still have it upstairs), and when I got the RNS-e at first I was a little disappointed with the fiddly-ness of the destination entry but with SDS enabled using it is a breeze.
    #49
  10. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    8.1 will be your map version.

    if you press the "CAR" button and then click on Version you will see three entries:

    SW (Software Version)
    HW (Hardware Version)
    MAP (Map part number).

    SW should be 0650.
    #50
  11. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    why is the A3/S3 rns-e so much more than say... the A4 ones?
    #51
  12. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Didn't know that. Thanks - new thing to play with tomorrow !
    #52
  13. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Have you applied the SDS hack?

    I'm just uploading the SDS hacked SW0650 now, so if anybody wants it let me know and I'll point you to the files.

    You'll need a blank CD and maybe access to VAGCOM depending on which version of the software you are currently running.
    #53
  14. benw123
    Offline

    benw123 Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Good to see another quality retrofit! And £550 is good money these days for a unit that's in a lot of demand still. I think they cost more than A4 units because there seems to be fewer on the market.

    To get the most from your RNS-E, make sure you head over to http://www.navplus.us. It's a forum dedicated to all Audi navigation and there's tonnes of useful advice, tips and guides.

    Incidentally, the sat nav in my Prius was also produced by Aisin (who manufacture the RNS-E) and there's several visual clues that it shares a lot of software with the RNS-E. The intersection zoom is virtually identical for one thing, as well as the navigation lady's voice and other map views albeit at a better pixel resolution. The main difference though is that it uses the Prius' touch-screen display which works well.
    #54
  15. Iggu
    Offline

    Iggu Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Ah. Maybe that's why I didn't know about it. No - never heard of it. Do I need Vagcom to access this functionality then ?
    #55
  16. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    You need to create an SDS hacked update disc and stick it into your RNS-e to update the software.
    #56
  17. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    Can anyone link me to a good, high capacity SD card on Ebay? One that WILL work with the unit bacause I'm baffled by all the terminology. SDCH WTF ROFL LOLZ
    #57
  18. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    #58
  19. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    #59
  20. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    #60
  21. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 1, 2008]
    they have some good price drops on sandisk... sucks it doesnt take sdhc tho!
    #61
  22. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 1, 2008]
    #62
  23. buckas
    Offline

    buckas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    2
  24. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 2, 2008]
    #64
  25. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    damn it L6ON your costing me money again!! ;)
    #65
  26. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 2, 2008]
    Which model did u buy?? I hope you made sure u got the latest one!
    #66
  27. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 2, 2008]
    Spacers next? :)
    #67
  28. maxS3uk
    Offline

    maxS3uk mike

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    L6ON... you still got 15mm on the back? Did you sort your rubbing issue? :)
    #68
  29. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    HA HA, stop! ;)
    #69
  30. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 2, 2008]
    Yep still got 15mm on the back. Still get rubbing in extreme conditions, i may go back with the file, as theres a fair bit i didnt rub down.... I could go flush, but im hoping not to. :)
    #70
  31. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Jul 2, 2008]
    #71
  32. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    Can only get up to 11 with the touchpad on my laptop. I'll have a go at beating you with my desktop later.....
    #72
  33. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    AHAHAHA, wondered how long it would take you to realise! :p and I only have laptops.... so if its harder with a lappo I want extra points! ;)
    #73
  34. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    Just managed to snag a copy of the 2008 Map DVD for £34 inc postage!!

    http://cgi.ebay.ie/DVD-RNS-E-AUDI-N...yZ115603QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    Some dude in Lisbon and he seems to have sold a fair few of them recently. Not sure if they're copies, but for 40 euro it doesn't matter. They're going for upwards of STG£100 elsewhere. He'll probably have more of them in a couple of days if anyone's interested.

    Might even stick my 2007 DVD up for sale if the new one works properly!
    #74
  35. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    the unit Ive just ordered reckons to come with the 2008 DVD...
    #75
  36. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    If you're running Sw650 then it is an 08 disc. When do you get the unit?
    #76
  37. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    being posted tomorrow apparently... from... well, dunno that bit... expected 5 days apparently. Says its coming from Europa
    #77
  38. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    Let me know if you need it all coding up, I think I'm in your neck of the woods.
    #78
  39. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 2, 2008]
    cheers John, I might well do that, cause I nred to do a bit of an upgrade... ;) Will catch you when it lands.

    Edit... just re-read your post... Im in Sheff.
    #79
  40. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 3, 2008]
    Marc when you say a map do you mean when you select an alert from the list?

    All I can get is a list, you pick one and then see it on the map. I wondered if there is a setting so you can see an area around your current location and then any issues are displayed.

    Cheers

    Staz
    #80

Share This Page