1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RNS-d and Gala Signal/ABS

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    I don't know if its me, the unit or the car but the RNS-d unit is in and working but i'm not 100% convinced the sat nav side of it is working correctly.

    It all appears to work but when travelling it's a bit slow at tracking my position on the map.
    I assume it's meant to follow me like a normal sat nav unit but this one is always 30-60 seconds behind.

    Cause the car is a 1998 and with no canbus system, I doubt the ABS speed signal would work so I changed it to Gala signal as the original stereo used this option.
    Changed the setting via VCDS and went for a drive. Checked the speed signal via VCDS in mess block 06 (I think it was that one, what ever one it was that had speed) and it was 0.0 kph.
    Changed it to ABS and it did the same thing.
    I assume this is why the sat nav is not working fully cause its got no idea how fast I'm going.

    Unless I've done something wrong, is it possible that the Gala signal is broken?
    Is there any way to test it or wire up the ABS signal?

    Any one got any ideas?
     
  2. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    I was also getting no signal on the Speed pule wire, I used an meter and found that the wire was open circuit between the cluster & head unit, ran a new wire in and it's working fine now.
     
  3. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    The Gala wire goes to the cluster?
    I'll have to check that then.
    Any idea what plug on the cluster?
     
  4. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
  5. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    PFL Cluster Pin out.
    [TABLE="class: cms_table_cc cms_table_einzug-standard cms_table_abstand-standard cms_table_absatz-hervor"]
    [TR]
    [TD]Multi-pin connector, 32-pin, blue[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    [TABLE="class: cms_table_cc cms_table_abstand-liste cms_table_erlaeutrg-leg"]
    [TR]
    [TD="class: cms_table_einzug-nummer"]3 -[/TD]
    [TD]Speedometer output 1[/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]


    Going by the pin outs for the cluster. I assume this is the signal wire for the Gala from the clocks?
     
  6. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    2 fault codes that I'm getting.
    01317 - Control module in instrument cluster (J283)
    49-00 - No Communications

    00867 - Connections to ABS control Module
    03-00 - No Signal
     
  7. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    Was your RNS-D factory fit?
     
  8. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Not in my car, no.
    Its a factory B5 unit.

    My car had the standard cassette unit fitted to it which has Gala.
     
  9. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    Sounds like some of the wiring is not correct or missing but what I'm not sure. May be worth posting in the NAV section, I've never touched the RNS-D only RNS-E & MMI.
     
  10. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    Mine did the same
    The gala appeared to have a signal because I wired it through funk switch and the LED would go out when stationary and increase in brightness as I sped up
    Just disconnected it in the end as it works fine without it
     
  11. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    You're running with no Speed signal to the RNS?


    How does the map work?
    Does it keep up?
    Mine says i'm on the A38 when I've pulled off and currently sat on the slip road.
     
  12. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Likes Received:
    8
    Works fine
    The speed signal is only there for when you lose signal in a tunnel etc

    It takes a bit of driving to calibrate first use
     
  13. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Really?

    I wish it would hurry up!!
     
  14. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    I would look into the fault codes, I'm sure it's what is causing your problem. Looking at your posts you have had that unit in your car for a while so it should have calibrated by now.
     
  15. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    This is my 2nd unit.
    Its about 2 weeks old.

    I got a third unit at home but I don't have the code for it. :(
     
  16. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    A day is long enough for the navigation to calibration as long as you do a good few miles. s8craig may be your best help, or try a message on audiforum.us
     
  17. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Ours has just started actual showing us on roads and keeping up after 30-60 miles. I've not tested it past that, but quite happy. I just need a CD changer cartridge to test if it works with the ipod as we spoke about before. I didn't even realise the avant had one,lol
     
  18. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Yours has a working speed signal though.......or am fascinating on something that has nothing to do with it?

    I left work today and set destination for Bristol but it never happened, it kept saying I was not on a digitized road but I've done about 30 miles with a CD in, so well see what happens.
     
  19. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
  20. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Do yours at least show the car on a road? Ours was showing the pointer about 10 meters beside it, off roading we were according to it, and crossing bridges was awesome in the water,lol

    I have read it will work with gala/speed, just i takes longer. Given that a normal sat nav has no gala signal to work out speed and direction, i see no reason why it won't work
     
  21. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
  22. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    So that could the first error code (01317), thing is they must be cheap enough now the RNS-D on ebay are only around £100.

    So the final fault code could fix the problem.

    One final thing to check, and I'm not sure if this is available on the RNS-D can you check how many satellites you are receiving, as it could be a bad GPS antenna.
     
  23. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    TMC is wired in but not coded.

    It shows the car on or very close to the road but states its off road and always where I was.

    I will have that once I've done the facelift clocks.

    I got full satellites, you can check it in setting, compass mode or when getting directions.
     
  24. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Here's what I mean when it's behind.

    I'm currently on the ferry but landed at the dock side currently unloading.
    Sat nav still thinks I'm in the middle of the rivers.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    352
    When you say full satellites how many is that. I get around 7-8 on my RNS.
     
  26. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    Full as in the little bar is full.
    Which is 7-8 I think.
     

Share This Page