1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Retro fitting Cruise control

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Seizure, May 7, 2004.

  1. Seizure
    Offline

    Seizure Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2004]
    I have an 2001 Audi S3, sort of.......

    I'm just completing a full conversion of a MkII Golf to run an S3 lump, code AMK, and the full dash and wiring loom. As part of the conversion I want to add Cruise control in. It's already FBW throttle running standard management, but I know need to add in the new stalks and the clutch switch.

    But, chatting to my local dealership, they said that some cars can't be retro converted because of the CAN BUS. He specifically mentioned some A4s but wasn't sure on the A3/S3. Can anyone here enlighten me as to whether this would be possible as I think it would be a sweet mod, and possibly the first MkII Golf to ever have it fitted. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif

    Something else I need to know, does the cruise control rely on the ABS/ESP set-up at all? Or are it's speed readings taken from the speedo sender in the gearbox?

    Cheers

    P.S. Car below - Temporary run around. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2004]
    Its easy to do on the A3 .. have search on the forum as there was a huge post about it a while back. You will need to get an Audi Dealer / Specialist to alter your ecu in some way .. Think the kits, including instructios, are available from VagParts.
    #2
  4. Seizure
    Offline

    Seizure Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    cybrey said:
    Its easy to do on the A3 .. have search on the forum as there was a huge post about it a while back.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Ahhh, OK. Cheers.

    [ QUOTE ]
    cybrey said: You will need to get an Audi Dealer / Specialist to alter your ecu in some way ..

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I think I read that VAGCOM can do it. I already have that. Is this not the case?

    [ QUOTE ]
    cybrey said:Think the kits, including instructios, are available from VagParts.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    ooooOOOOoooo. Ill get onto them now then. Cheers. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    #3
  5. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2004]
    Yes I think the VAGCOM may be able to do it.

    This is the article about cruise control I was thinking of.. got loads of info in there.
    #4
  6. Seizure
    Offline

    Seizure Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 7, 2004]
    Sweet cheers. Think that pretty much explains what I was after.

    Another question: FBW Throttle body. According to VAGCOM, mine only opperates between 15 and 85%. Is this normal?
    #5
  7. rally_chris
    Offline

    rally_chris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2004]
    #6

Share This Page