1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Possible to retrofit Mobile Phone Prep - High?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by allanmb, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    I am wondering if it is possible to retrofit the 'Mobile Phone Prep - High' option on a new facelift A4? I would like to have access to the online services like advanced traffic and google maps. Is this possible? And if so, how much would I be looking at? I already have MMI 3G if that makes any difference.
    Cheers
    Allan
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Keef

    Keef Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi S4

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    446

    Yes, defo possible, has been done a few times - but I understand, depending on your original set-up it could be as much as £2-3k!
    'NHN' on here might be able to help or if not then a guy called 'II Ben' over on 'A5OC' can do it for you.

    Cheers
    Keef
     
    allanmb and NHN like this.
  4. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,125
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    On your year of car & sig spec, haven't you got 3G+ installed?
     
  5. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    No, the standard is Mobile Prep - Low. I don't have the SIM slot (which I don't need), nor do I have the ability to connect to a phone to use the remote sim access which is the part I want.
     
  6. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
    I'm sure mine is 3G not 3G+ it is a bit odd that you cant use the bluetooth connection for the data connection that the 3G+ needs for the extra google map detail ......

    Unless I am wrong about this ??
     
  7. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    That's exactly what I thought. But it would seem you need the option before you can connect data :-(
     
  8. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
    #7 Anthony566, Feb 21, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
  9. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
    Does anyone know if this is possible ?? Or has anyone already had this done ??
     
  10. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    I take it nobody know whether or not this is possible? If so, please add some info to the thread...
     
  11. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
    Has no one done this retro install ??
     
  12. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    I am starting to lose hope that this isn't possible. I guess it might be worth asking Audi but I imagine they will charge big bucks...
     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,125
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    It is possible, but its very expensive.
     
  14. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    Are we talking over a grand?
     
  15. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
  16. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    Thanks! This appears to be mostly concerning upgrading the unit from MMI-3G to a 3G+ rather than just the mobile prep high, but there are some useful pieces of information in there. It will take a while to trawl through it all.

    I did, however, notice this little nugget:
    "Note that the tel_settings under diagnose/settings lets you turn on and off HFC/NAD/etc. This means you can also enable Telephone Preparation High, without a cradle or SIM slot. Unfortunately, I've not been able to test it because iPhones don't support rSAP! "

    That sounds very promising! It basically just requires accessing the hidden menu in the MMI. I'm not sure if my Samsung Galaxy Note 2 supports rSAP but it's worth a shot!
     
  17. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
    You will need this for rSAP http://www.android-rsap.com/installation.html

    You will also need to root the device ... google this for a how to...

    I am not sure if this will do what you need or not as far as I can see to have the mobile phone prep hi you need the CD head unit with the sim card slot in it .... but I am still trying to confirm this ... also to use the in car areal you need to install the cable as well ....
     
    #16 Anthony566, Apr 22, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2014
    allanmb likes this.
  18. allanmb

    allanmb Active Member
    quattro Audi A4 Black Edition Team Brilliant Black

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    87
    Not sure if I will need the in-car aerial. I will try and get my phone prepared for trying this out at the weekend and I will report back :)
     
  19. Anthony566

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    111
    I also did find information that seemed to confirm that if your car is MMI 3G you only need to swap the head unit...

    "For 3G MMI it's a direct swap and the only wiring needed is an antenna wire for GSM for google. The NA cars should have that connection waiting on the antenna though"



    Have a look at this one as there is also a lot of info in it

    New Google MMI installed in 3G car 100% working - A5_OC
     
  20. mrose

    mrose Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    13
    I noticed that too. I was thrashing around in my 3G MMI hidden menu the other day and saw those settings. Also network settings like DHCP / Static IP etc. You'd think that if phone prep low was written in stone by being hardware dependent the software wouldn't be installed. I'm hoping it's a simple case of tweaking the settings. I left it well alone but…..hmmmm
     
  21. mrose

    mrose Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ok,just had a little play. In the Hidden Menu; changing Tel /diagnose/settings/no WIFI/NAD/BT/HFC AND AMI settings/no Aux/ AMI BT/AMI made no difference whatsoever with my Blackberry. Checked Audi BT device properties [refresh service list] still had only Hands Free unit and Headset Audio Gateway. No addition settings or features on MMI.

    Maybe a bit of 5F coding needed?
     

Share This Page