1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Petrol guage readings off since remap.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by max69vk, May 27, 2013.

  1. max69vk
    Offline

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 27, 2013]
    Bit random I know but I've noticed that when I put my remap on the car (using an STS unit) the petrol gauge reads incorrectly. Below us a picture were I've absolutely brimmed the tank then applied the map & the guage has dropped, I'd done 0.3 of a mile since the fill up!
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1369670731.513618.jpg
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. max69vk
    Offline

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 27, 2013]
    Forgot to actually ask the question.... Is this normal, has anyone else experienced this?
    #2
  4. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    579
    [May 27, 2013]
    Doesn't sound normal to me, mine didn't do this after its remap.
    #3
  5. dan77
    Offline

    dan77 dan77

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 27, 2013]
    mines revo'd and doesn't do this, can't really imagine how the the remap would effect fuel readings?
    #4
  6. max69vk
    Offline

    max69vk Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    43
    [May 27, 2013]
    It's weird, I've had to remove the map & reload it a couple of times & was pretty sure the fuel gauge had dropped then, but this is the first time I'd done it with the tank totally brimmed so I knew I couldn't be imagining it.
    #5
  7. mjr901
    Online

    mjr901 S3 Pollution Plus+ Edition

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    515
    [May 27, 2013]
    When I had stage 1 Viezu map in my 09 S3 mine did exactly this!!

    Vagcom'd it. re calibrated the instrument cluster and it was fine.

    Mine was suddenly a 1/4 tank out after the remap!
    #6
  8. wuta3
    Offline

    wuta3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    341
    [May 27, 2013]
    What is this "full tank" you speak of? It must be specific to TDI models.
    #7

Share This Page