1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No temperature on gauge (dead sensor)?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by jcb, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    If it is dead and has been driven like this is that a problem?
    it seems very hot but the 2nd fan isnt kicking in
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Whats it reading on the hvac ?? Mine displays 30 every now and then when it drops off and also reads 30'c from cold so presuming its the sensor.
    #2
  4. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    no reading , needle is unmoved
    (by HVAC I assume you mean gauge?)
    #3
  5. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    No a/c control if you press recirc and the up button for vent distribution then go to 49 then press recirc it will give you the actual temperature in digits.
    #4
  6. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    they want £33 for a new one!!
    eBay have then for £7. is that a disaster waiting to happen!?
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    yeh i'd stick to genuine, speak to Jason.S on here he'll get you some discount.
    #6
  8. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    TPS are selling stuff at Audi dealer prices.
    #7
  9. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Theres meyle ones on ebay for about £9 iirc
    #8
  10. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    saw those. and some febi ones.

    TBH I do not want this to turn into a money pit

    if the sensor was goosed why would it run hot?
    I assumed it would run cool if anything as I expected the fan to be on permanently.
    Also done a full scan in VAG and no code for ECT sensor....strange?
    #9
  11. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    No code here niether aslong as the stat is working and the viscous fan is running id say your ok the electric fan is there as a back up and when the A/C is switched on iirc
    #10
  12. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    so its not the sensor or it is the sensor but not an issue to run it like that?
    #11
  13. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Sensor for the fan is totally unrelated to the sensor for the dash.

    The CTS on the back of the head supplies a signal for the guage and a signal for the ECU. If this is faulty you'll have **** economy and probably dodgy emissions as it'll run rich all the time.

    The electric fan is controlled by a 4 pin sensor in the bottom radiator hose, and/or the Aircon controller. The viscous fan should run all the time. If you switch the AC on and the electric fan doesnt start then its faulty/broken/unplugged/blown its fuse...

    Is this the TQS your on about, or something else?
    #12
  14. wallace78
    Offline

    wallace78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    i didnt get a book with my car how do u put the aircon on iv a funny feeling its not working and were abouts is the sensor in the ingine bay,chees
    #13
  15. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Facelift or Prefacelift?

    Facelift runs the AC all the time unless its below 5c or you press the ECON button.

    Prefacelift has a "frost" symbol on the climate unit to turn on the AC.
    #14
  16. wallace78
    Offline

    wallace78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    cheers m8 mines the facelift:icon_thumright:
    #15
  17. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    Yeah i couldnt sus that one when i got it so i make sure the econ button is lit up all the time.
    #16
  18. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Mar 26, 2012]
    A6 2.8Q
    but the A6 forum is like a morgue!

    will check the AC
    #17

Share This Page