1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Turbo??

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by alex-qts, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys,

    just some quick advice... i have a 2000 a4 1.8qts, car is boosting full 10-11psi but has lost all power!! and have some blue smoke when pulling off or in traffic.. (doesnt do it all the time though) car is going in garrage tomorrow. its also eating oil and coolant! really hope its not serious :(

    if it is the turbo thats at fault, (some people have said that it could be, even though it boosting) what do you think would be the best turbo to replace with for slight power increase.

    direct replace ko3s
    ko4-001?
    or another better one, i would like somthing that sounds loud on spool up... i love that sound! :)

    i have been doing alot of research but its all quite confusing!! i just want a direct bolt-on upgrade, also do i need to remap or will ecu/engine accept new...bigger turbo?


    thanks for any help or advice!
    #1
  2. Fraser
    Offline

    Fraser Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you go bigger you will need to remap to unleash the bigger power potential - not really worth going bigger if you don't
    #2
  3. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks fraser, also reading more into this has got me paranoid that my qts has a normal K03!! apparently some 180 engines (a small amount) have the 12 blade k03 version! :wtf:

    my engine code is: AJL
    is there any way to tell what turbo i have without removing it, i looked but cant see the numbers. it seems to boost 10-11psi on the gauge.witch would point to k03s but maybe they upped the boost on 180 k03??

    maybe there is a way to remove some pipes to count the blades?
    #3
  4. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    10-11psi is normal for an AJL i think, and the turbo fitted wouldnt affect that.

    I dont think any TQS's left the factory with K03's, i think that these cars have probably had a turbo change at some point, and some tardy garage have just ordered a turbo for an "A4 1.8T"

    If you can get the part number off the turbo you can tell which it is.

    If you are thinking of an upgrade, i would forget a K04 and get yourself a T28 and manifold.

    A K04-015 (and probably K03 too) will cost you around 7-800 quid, and for that money, you can pick up a good condition T28, a manifold and have some change left over.

    As for it making no power, have you pulled any fault codes? Seems a bit odd to me, as if the turbo is managing to pressurise the inlet then it should be making the associated power...
    #4
  5. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    Your problem sounds like a head gasket issue but as for 10-11psi is very good as a none chipped TQS should only spike to 9psi max showing 8psi normally.

    If the turbo went you word normally see white smoke rather than blue.
    #5
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    doc: 150hp 1.8T's run 8psi, so i'd expect a few PSI more from the 180hp version?

    Blue smoke is the engine burning oil. Oil can sometimes look white too though, depending on how much and where it enters the combustion process.
    #6
  7. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks guys,

    yeh its all very strange, well... i just dropped her off at the garrage so should know by the end of the day, fingers crossed its not serious! i will report back later.

    as for the blue smoke it only does it very rarely, seemed to start last sat when i was on the m25 in traffic and had the air con on. a load of blue smoke was coming out, so switched off the aircon and the smoke reduced. since then it has been doing it on and off (small amounts) when pulling off.

    no fault codes when i last checked.

    i did look at the t28, but i thought you needed FMIC and uprated injectors...ect to run this?
    #7
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    You'd only need uprated injectors if you were to remap the car past the capabilities of the original ones, same with the cooler.

    You could get more from the car with them, but they're not needed imo.
    #8
  9. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25

    Nope my 190bhp B6 S-Line only runds 9psi
    #9
  10. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    I would have thought it would be pointless not running larger injectors and FMIC if running a T28 other wise a K04 would do the same.
    #10
  11. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    [​IMG]

    just been looking at theese gt28's thats quite somthing, if i was to put a t28 i would prob remap to 220ish if poss, but the thought of FMIC and injectors, plus manifold seems like alot of work,i have no turbo replacing skills! :readit: it took me hours to fit 710n, as i had no ramps or jacks lol.
    #11
  12. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    Then you did not ask for a write-up which would have saved you them hours by just taking the headlight out.
    #12
  13. alex-qts
    Offline

    alex-qts Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    i did take the headlight out! but it was the ground clearence under the car that was the pain, also spent ages playing with the forge split-r. i had big boost problems with that, so it had to go.

    just saw your post on audizine about the hybrid k04-15, how did all that go?
    #13
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Just because the turbo is capable of 300hp doesnt mean you have to run it at that....

    Its a more cost effective option than a K04, and you can probably push 230-240hp out of the stock injectors. The turbo will also be operating in a more efficient band than a K04 wringing its guts out, so the lack of an intercooler upgrade will be less important.
    #14
  15. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    True but he would have to replace the manifold and custom pipes to the down pipe just to get it on.
    #15
  16. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    ..custom oil feed, TIP and filter too for the T28.

    If you're looking for around 220HP I'd look at Scroll Products. Direct bolt on and very good value for money.

    I'll have one up for grabs in a few weeks/month or so.
    #16
  17. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    So far so good after a injector failed which ment I was driving on three cylinders which then took out my CAT all is good just need to fit a 3" MAF and injectors for a remap oh and upgraded clutch just in case.
    #17
  18. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    Me too.. need money!!!
    #18
  19. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    S4 clutch time then...
    #19
  20. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have a SB stage 4 waiting to go in just not the fund to pay for the fitting.
    #20
  21. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's what the Haynes manual is for lol
    #21
  22. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Personally i recon a 240mm OE clutch like that from the S4 would be a better option than some mega uprated 1.8T item.

    And if you need more clamping (unlikely with a K04) than that can provide, there are always uprated S4 items, which will provide more clamping without resorting to some ultra heavy thing clamping a tiny disk.

    The S4 clutch should easily outperform a "stage 3" southbend, while retaining factory clutch pedal feel, and all in a clutch you can pickup from your local factors for £150
    #22
  23. Lee Goodall
    Offline

    Lee Goodall ..got my head together!

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,231
    Likes Received:
    1
    £150.. SOLD!
    #23
  24. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    Now you tell me:keule:
    #24
  25. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    You need the flywheel as well, but then the existing DMF will be dead anyway so thats not so much of an issue.

    Think Siena advertised the flywheels on here for £250ish just recently.
    #25

Share This Page