1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking for a after market headunit what do you recommend

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by fazer0, Jan 17, 2014.

  1. fazer0
    Offline

    fazer0 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 17, 2014]
    basically I'm after a new head unit that can play my iPod, has at least a 6'' screen and if possible has the ability for android phone connectivity and sat nav but not essential. and obviously as little cost as possible.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Lavis89
    Offline

    Lavis89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    137
    [Jan 17, 2014]
    rather than putting a whole new head unit it i bought a aux adaptor for my existing one, use a cheap ebay phone holder on my dash and just use my phone for satnav, music, anything basically
    #2
  4. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 18, 2014]
    Not got a screen or cd player but cheap with full support for andriod + ipod Pioneer MVH-350BT
    uploadfromtaptalk1390080654110.jpg
    also red matches interior ambient lighting of red... well its pretty dam close
    #3
  5. s3mad_dude
    Offline

    s3mad_dude Noggies ruuuule!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    43
    [Jan 18, 2014]
    If you're running the Bose setup it's not just a simple plug/play job. There's all sorts of adapters and weird shizzle you need to install too - just a heads up.
    #4
  6. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 18, 2014]
    yes i did have a couple of issues with the different cables /Adaptors that halfords sell got there eventually tho
    #5
  7. Jay A3
    Online

    Jay A3 More power

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,877
    Likes Received:
    231
    [Jan 19, 2014]
    Search for app radios. Ie pioneer da100 or da110
    #6
  8. womb raider
    Offline

    womb raider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 19, 2014]
    did u do this to yours at all?
    #7
  9. Gazwould
    Offline

    Gazwould Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    110
    [Jan 19, 2014]
    Not good reviews about these on Amazon.
    #8
  10. eightfour7two
    Offline

    eightfour7two Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    I went through all the rigmarole of putting an aftermarket HU in my S3 a few months ago; in the end I decided it wasn't worth it and went back to the stock HU (Chorus II, with a tape deck!) and a Connects2 box behind the dash to handle iPod/Aux inputs.

    For the aftermarket HU, you'll want to make sure you get one with dual (front+rear) pre-outs on the back, that way you can use the Autoleads PC9-408 to connect to the Bose system, far better than using that high-to-low converter lead. There are a few problems however: You'll need to run an ignition live from the fusebox to the HU because the stereo won't know to turn off when you take the key out of the ignition. Also you'll probably get loud pops from the speakers when turning the HU on and off, although that can be fixed by fitting ground-loop isolators between the pre-out and the wiring harness.

    All in all, it's far easier to use the stock head unit (no popping, turns off and on with the ignition) and use a box in the dash to handle aux/iPod/bluetooth
    #9
  11. JoeeS3
    Offline

    JoeeS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    80
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    if you want a bose wiring loom from halford you can have mine for £35 i only bought it two weeks ago but my double din didnt work well with my phone so i got rid of it. i believe it is the PC9-408 loom, £45 brand new
    #10
  12. Jersey
    Offline

    Jersey Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    Hello mate,

    Can you explain this a little more to me, or send a link/guide that tells me what to do. Looking at the easiest and best way to play iphone / ipod music.
    I appreciate any help.

    J
    #11
  13. eightfour7two
    Offline

    eightfour7two Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    Well mine was a Connects2, which you can find here, just find the 'iPod adapter' section. You basically connect the box up to the CD changer port on the back of your original head unit and run an aux or iPod cable from that box. I routed my aux wire so it comes out from under the glovebox
    #12
    sssline and Jersey like this.
  14. nicksthebiz
    Offline

    nicksthebiz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jan 20, 2014]
    i put the pioneer head unit in usihg a loom adaptor from halfords it was ahit fiddly but i found one that works and i do have a bose system... but i did get a popping /interferance over the speakers. i then fitted a sub in the boot from the sub out on the backmof the HU andmi un plugged the oem/stock subs in the rear left of the boot this stopped the interferance so i now have all speakers working other than the stock subs in the rear left of the boot and a aftermarket sub in the boot ...
    this set up is ok but the speakers are not perfect with the sub, the bass from the sub on some songs over powers the bose system speakers
    #13

Share This Page