1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Key Group buy

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    142
    id be happy with just a 2 flip keys that I can put my spare transponders and blades into but the prices there are OTT for a key in my eyes just my opinion
     
  4. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Drop him a PM and see what he says about just a key with out a blade or transponder.
    I think his prices are blade and transponder.
     
  5. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Sorry, I was waiting for some feedback before posting on other sections, thanks scott.

    Prices quoted are for complete remote, with new blade and transponder coded to your car.
    As you are so far away I may consider posting you a key or two without those parts.
    Bear in mind also I am a new start business trading in the uk with uk supplied stock, so if anything goes wrong all your rights are covered and remotes can be replaced quickly.
    The only problem with sending keys for you to transfer parts is i wont be liable for any damage you may cause to the board on removal (unlikely to happen), or damage to the transponder (quite likely to break)

    I can supply OEM look keys too, usually with genuine internals, prices vary though.

    Feel free to pm me with details of your car if you are unsure about anything.

    Thanks, Tom
     
    ScottD3 likes this.
  6. Chriscooke

    Chriscooke Clueless!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    23
    I need a new key really as I only have the one currently which is a touch worrying. Shame you're not more local.
     
  7. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,786
    Likes Received:
    205
    could you supply the one on the far right of the pic and i still keep my old key aswell as a spare as i only have the one and i will come to you for coding ??

    If so drop us a PM on price !! And also can you remove skc codes and code immo's as thinking of going me3.8.3 (AGU ECU) !!
     
  8. jbh

    jbh TDi lover

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    142
    My car hasnt got the remote locking so the buttons working or not doesnt really bother me. I like theidea of having a flip key though as it sits nicer on youre key ring. ( and in youre pocket ) ive got flip key blades to fit my car and transponders I just need a key to fit them into
     
  9. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Sorry! Craigynett is in bristol sometime this month iirc, pm him he may be able to do you a deal if you meet him? Not sure of his prices, but defo cheaper to have a spare.

    I can supply and code yes. ill pm you

    Have a look at this thread, some usefull part numbers to add a remote.
    B5 A4 Central Locking FAQ - Page 3
    Also search this forum faction one did a thread here iirc. I may be able to get a case only with no remote. Ill ask the supplier.
     
  10. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    331
    Can I check which pump I have with VCDS Lite? Despite my car being a 96 model and being told it couldn't be reconfigured I have successfuly managed to recode the indicator flash on locking and activated the anti hijack. I've been after remote locking for a while and if there is a way of activating the function through coding I'd like to give it a whirl.Cheers
     
  11. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    I dont know the limitations of vcds lite, and tbh I havent done any central locking retrofit. Faction one may be able to help with more info, or nhn or email rosstech to see if they have any input? Seems a few are in the same situation, Ill look into it if i get chance as it could be a great retrofit to offer.
     
  12. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    331
    Found a list of pumps in the link posted. Saddly, according to my VCDS Lite, mine is the A version so no r/c/l. Don't want infra red and guessing it would be a pig to retrofit anyway so will probably look at something like R-Click unless I can sort a 2nd hand r/c/l pump that will work with my car.

    Copy and Paste effort

    8L0 862 257 early model remote c/l pump, has limited functions e.g wont operate door pin led's or flash indicators on unlock
    8L0 862 257 'A' early model non remote
    8L0 862 257 'H' 98-99 non remote pump
    8L0 862 257 'G' 98-99 remote c/l pump uses 2 button remote fob
    8L0 862 257 'P' 99+ facelift model pump, all facelift have remote c/l and so behaves oddly if you use the key to open door (drivers door only will unlock untill you turn ign. on) they also use a different siren (batt back up type) so arent compatable with earlier cars
    8D0 862 257 'E' as above
     
  13. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    13
    the guy on eBay who cuts from a photo is a genius!
    two key blades for a tenner

    had two fobs already
     
  14. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Who did you use? thats pretty good considering the blades are 2.20 each , 2quid for post, and time taken to decode and cut your keys.
     
  15. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    13
  16. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Im planning to attend the Edinburgh dealer meet end of september if you dont get it sorted sooner I'd be happy to code them/ pull your pin
     
    Brodster likes this.
  17. jcb

    jcb Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    13
    nice thanks
    should have a VAG Tacho cable shortly
    what is the event?
     
  18. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,777
    Likes Received:
    177
    Where are all these vag tacho cables coming from?! Im waiting on my updated v5 still :(
     
  19. craigynett

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    well a good guess would be China, via Ebay! I imagine that the amount of VAG owners that have a clone version far out weighs genuine owners, same with VCDS
     
  20. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,577
    Likes Received:
    641
    Sounds about right.

    What amuses me is the folk selling the kit set a stupid price, then moan because folk buy cloned ones.

    390 euros, vs 20quid on ebay, its sort of obvious why folk buy the cloned leads. Especially when its for personal use and they only need to program one key.

    VCDS at least have accepted a half-way-house, allowing the use of clone cables with a freeware version of the software, which allows people to see the usefulness and then choose to buy the full version. That said i still think its too expensive.
     
  21. craigynett

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    it's the people that make the genuine kit that put all the time, money, research & development into making it in the 1st place. Then to have somebody copy it is obviously going to p*ss them off. I thinki genuine VCDS is very reasonably priced considering what genuine Abrites VAG Commander costs but then again VAG Commander does a hell of a lot more than VCDS as it has the option to make dealer keys etc. Then on top of that you have their tech support which isn't going to happen with a clone

    Then if you look at the Advanced Diagnostics key programming tools, MVP Pro & AD100 Pro. They don't just work with VAG they do most makes of car so there's even more work has to go into getting those machines running.

    All of this equipment is being regularly updated as well! I can understand why a personal home user is going to buy a £20 clone but to complain about the price of genuine equipment is pretty stupid after what they put into it. More often than not a lot of the clone gear doesn't do everything the genuine equipment does
     

Share This Page